PDA

View Full Version : Modem detection



LackeyLad
23rd February 2004, 12:33 AM
Hello,

I am a new user to this forum and to Fedora all together. I installed my first system last week and have been trying to become familiar with it.

im having trouble having modem detected in the hardware browser. Should i just try a new moden and see what happenns, or is there a way i have manually search for the device?

ewdi
23rd February 2004, 12:40 AM
is it a winmodem?

LackeyLad
23rd February 2004, 12:59 AM
hrm....

yes, i do believe so.

what are my options here?

Bana
23rd February 2004, 01:14 AM
Well, winmodems are like the scourge of the linux community. You can use various emulators and such and they vary from brand to brand, here (http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/answers.php?action=viewarticle&artid=34) is a good resource that might help.

Good luck!

Ug
23rd February 2004, 12:59 PM
I use a modem to connect to the internet. And I originally had a winmodem, I tried fiddling with many of the drivers for linux you might find. But these are all way too complicated for any newbie to deal with especially when its their first linux box.

So I went to http://www.ebuyer.com/ and ordered myself a new serial modem for about 20. ($40?) The easiest way to spot a hardware modem is generally to buy one which is external, and which connects to a serial port on the back of your PC.

Get one that you are sure can connect to the serial port of your computer. Such as this one: http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/products/index.html?action=c2hvd19wcm9kdWN0X292ZXJ2aWV3&product_uid=36392

When you recieve your modem run KPPP to connect to the internet. Click Configure in KPPP, then go into the settings and under the modem tab select the modem thats attached. If your using Com 1, then it will be /dev/ttsy0.

Go to another of the tabs and click Query Modem. This will check if the modem is where you say it is and whether or not it is responding. If it is responding then click OK, and go back to the main settings screen. From here you can set up your ISPs details.

Go back to the main page, insert your username and password and click connect. This should open up your connection.

Hope that helps!

LackeyLad
23rd February 2004, 02:56 PM
yo guys,

awsome help. chances are that i will have more questions before i get around to troubleshooting and/or buying a new modem.

I am grateful for the help tho, and will for sure use the links given when i am ready to get into that mess.

my major concern is gettin my laptop back and finding a way to partitian the drive, but i will most likely run into the same problems.

when i run the fedora disk on the dell inspirion, i get an error saying that the program cant allocate enough space, which i dont think is becuase of the space, probably because of the winxp files on it. i went to the manual partitian but couldnt seem to declare a root "/" file or something.

any word on that?


Also, software question: Any coding compilers available on linux? any architect software?

LackeyLad

btw, i will check myself for this stuff online, so please dont think im a lazy *****, i just get quicker, better feedback from experienced people :)

Ug
23rd February 2004, 03:11 PM
There's lot of compilers, KDevelop is the most popular one for KDE.

But it would be best to post all of your other questions in the relevant forums! To make sure everything is tidy and others can search through it all easily.

LackeyLad
23rd February 2004, 03:18 PM
Can i compile c++ on that one? or COBOL?

Ug
23rd February 2004, 03:21 PM
15 supported languages including Ada, C, C++, Objective-C (via C support), SQL, Fortran, Haskell, Java, PHP, Pascal, Perl, Python, Ruby, Bash, XUL (unofficially).
Find out more at http://www.kdevelop.org