PDA

View Full Version : DNS problem



machielr
24th July 2007, 07:26 AM
HI Guys...

I have once again another issue....I was able to use the windows domain's dns entries to connect to servers and pc's...I rebooted and now I can't use them at all...I need to use ip's now...

What went wrong?

brad_c6
24th July 2007, 08:23 AM
If you could give some more information that would help

machielr
24th July 2007, 08:43 AM
well let's phrase it this way...
We are working on a windows domain and I am running fedora core6 (for the first time).
I have been running the machine for more than a week now and I used to be able to ping,use smb shares and even vnc using the dns entry names of the servers and machines.

However this morning I rebooted my machine and I couldn't use this anymore but can in fact access them via IP addresses.

I have made a lot of chenges last week as my swat didn't work properly and on the forum someone assisted me to fix this but now my dns references doesn't work.