PDA

View Full Version : invalid host address

PhilTR
3rd July 2007, 03:01 PM
I've been using Fedora Core for about two years now contenting myself with getting comfortable with the OS. I started with '4' and upgraded to '6'. Now I want to begin fixing various problems I've ignored.

I have two boxes one running FC4 and the other FC6 serviced by a Versalink D90-327W30-06 router/DSL modem combo which acts as a DHCP server with IP addy of 192.168.0.1 each computer pugged into one of four router ports as peers.

I've been using 'localhost.localdomain' as 'Hostname' for both computers and 192.168.0.1 as Primary and Secondary DNS. The router assigns 192.168.0.101 to the FC6 box and 192.168.0.100 to the FC4 box (the total range of IP addys it can choose from). I have a fixed IP addy from my ISP.

After pouring over the Network Connectivity and Internet Connectivity chapters of my FC4 Unleashed bible I tried to give my FC4 box a unique hostname but ran into problems loosing use of some of my desktop icons and booting problems. Later I also tried to give my FC6 box a unique hostname but had the same desktop problems. I didn't even try to reboot. I tried to set a unique hostname by filling in the Hostname field of the 'Network Configuration, DNS' GUI utility. Since I was using the router as a DHCP server I didn't fill in any of the 'Host' fields. I wasn't sure what I should do.

I looked through /var/log/messages and the first problem I was able to recognise was 'invalid host address'. There are many othes which are shown in the attachment but, I want to start housekeeping by setting up valid IP hostnames and enable both boxes to 'see' each other and mount parts of each other's file systems.

Thanks for your help. phil

JEO
3rd July 2007, 03:32 PM
For example, if you choose a hostname 'helium' and your isp was 'aol.com', In /etc/hosts try adding a line like

0.0.0.0 helium.aol.com helium

there should already be a line in there like
127.0.0.1 localhost.localdomain localhost