PDA

View Full Version : No sound in firefox

DrThomas
2nd July 2007, 11:15 PM
I have no sound in firefox on my fresh fedora installation. Sound works perfectly on any other program I try.

I've set up the livna repository and installed various plugins, including flash and mplayer. I've tested stage6.divx.com and youtube.com, both show videos but no sound.

:mad: :mad: :mad:

bob
2nd July 2007, 11:50 PM
Try typing 'alsamixer' and make sure that nothing's minimized or muted.

DrThomas
3rd July 2007, 11:58 AM
I already said everything is working perfectly, including sound. It's just firefox that doesn't work!

bob
3rd July 2007, 01:03 PM
Sorry, misread that one. Here's the only explanation and possible fix that I've found: http://nileshbansal.blogspot.com/2006/09/firefox-linux-and-audio.html

DrThomas
3rd July 2007, 02:18 PM
Im not really good at linux.. would you mind explaining what was in that fix to me? :rolleyes:

thanks

bob
3rd July 2007, 06:13 PM
Okay, let's first see if it works for you. The first thing we've got to install is the alsa-oss & it's libs:

yum install alsa-oss alsa-oss-libs

Once that's done, try opening a terminal and run firefox as:

aoss firefox

to see if the sound is fixed. If so, those instructions are to add that "aoss" command to the firefox coding and make the change permanent. We'll tackle that if the 'aoss firefox' is the fix.

DrThomas
3rd July 2007, 07:03 PM
Didn't work :(

bob
3rd July 2007, 07:16 PM
Well, at least you aren't going to be messing with codes! So, try putting "about:plugins" in the url box and see if you've got audio/mpeg; audio/x-mpeg; audio/mpeg2; audio/mpeg3; audio/mpeg4; audio/x-mpeg3; audio/wav; audio/x-wav; audio/3gpp; audio/3gpp2; ...well there's about a dozen more, ogg & realplayer etc.... but see if they're listed as 'enabled'.

writethatdown
27th August 2007, 10:36 PM
Have any solutions been found for this? I'm having the same problem as DrThomas.