PDA

View Full Version : Cant get grub to boot windows



Saint Mike
2nd July 2007, 03:23 AM
Yo,

I understand what im doing here but must be missing something reaaaaaaly stupid as i just cant sus this out. the installer was pointing grub to the fedora partition for windows... it did something similare on my main computer, pointed windows loader to a data drive...

Whenever grub tries to boot windows up its saying there is no such partition.... I know windows is there as if i change the boot order i can get it to load windows fine

my Windows instalation is on /dev/sdc2 which is (hd2,1) in grub right?

iv tries messing with numbers but no luck, at once stage grub had my printer go app**** and print out 1000000 copies of "roonotify bla bla bla chainloader bla bla bla" which i thought was seems EXTREAMLY odd lol

here is the partition layout and grub.conf


[root@familybox ~]# fdisk /dev/sdc

Command (m for help): p

Disk /dev/sdc: 160.0 GB, 160041885696 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 19457 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sdc1 1 1019 8185086 12 Compaq diagnostics
/dev/sdc2 * 1020 10170 73505407+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
/dev/sdc3 10171 19457 74597827+ c W95 FAT32 (LBA)

Command (m for help): q

[root@familybox ~]# cat /boot/grub/grub.conf
#boot=/dev/sdb
default=1
timeout=5
splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
hiddenmenu
title Fedora (2.6.21-1.3194.fc7)
root (hd0,0)
kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.21-1.3194.fc7 ro root=LABEL=/ rhgb quiet
initrd /initrd-2.6.21-1.3194.fc7.img
title Windows
rootnoverify (hd2,1)
chainloader +1


Any light on the situation would be greatly appreciated thx ;- )

bob
2nd July 2007, 03:41 AM
So, Fedora's on sda, something's on sdb and Windows is on sdc. Okay, maybe mapping will help grub to find it's way. Worth a try:

title Windows
map (hd0) (hd2)
map (hd2) (hd0)
rootnoverify (hd2,1)
chainloader +1

When adding lines to the bottom of a grub.conf, be sure to hit 'enter' once more after adding the last line. That creates a blank line that lets grub read all the way to the bottom. (Somebody ought to just fix it, but that's the tweak for now).

lmo
2nd July 2007, 05:09 AM
grub ... er ... in some cases counts the old way with regard to IDE drives while f(c)7 ... er ... counts the new way such that IDE drives get higher sd letters than SATA drives. If sdc happened to be an IDE drive and the others were SATA drives, grub would count it (hd0,..). Being that WinX is on sdc, normally WinX would be on the first drive (hd0,1) which would make sense if it is an IDE. If it sounds like I am confused, you are correct.

bob
2nd July 2007, 10:35 AM
Yes, it might be a good idea to boot into Fedora and sign in as full root (su -) then post the results of "fdisk -l" to show how all of those drives appear. Imo has a good point (somewhere in there) that mixing SATA and IDE drives creates havoc with Fedora and there are several long threads of members trying to work out the details.