PDA

View Full Version : Download Manager

phree
30th June 2007, 07:48 PM
Hi, I am new to linux and I am trying to get all the functionality in my newly built linux machine that i do in my Windows XP machines.

So far things are going well but i am struggling to find a definitive answer on a suitable download manager, for M$ I use FlashGet.

Can anyone recommend a GUI based app that works with Linux that has the performance and functionality of FLashget?

rgds Phree

cr4ck3r
1st July 2007, 02:52 AM
How about d4x, gwget (GUI for wget).
PS: I also use FlashGet through Wine ;)

phree
2nd July 2007, 08:08 AM
Cheers cr4ck3r, I have downloaded and actualy managed to install wine, just got to work out how to work it.

Cheers again

Phree

evrens
2nd July 2007, 08:54 AM
i suggest multiget. It seems like a flashget. And also you can execute flashget with wine. If you choose this optin you have to instann wine. In terminal with su - command, if you write "yum install wine cabextract" all package will be installed to system about wine. After that you just two click flasget windows setup program.

After this process you can view flasget button under the apllication-wine :)

michaeleekk
4th July 2007, 10:31 AM
Well, Flashget can run well under wine.
If you like, you can just download the flashget from the official site and install it.
Everythings will be fine.

phree
13th July 2007, 12:58 PM
Michaeleekk, evrens, apologies for the delay in responding, i had other newbie issues with printing to resolve....done now tho :-)

I installed wine as you suggested and downloaded flashget. however when it starts the install it fails because it cannt write to the disk.

i think this might be a configuration issue. Any ideas?

rgds Phree

evrens
13th July 2007, 02:45 PM
Maybe you can install perevius version like that flashget 1.7x, wine mostly execute win98 compability programs. i suggest multiget.

QuasiMod
14th July 2007, 02:55 PM