PDA

View Full Version : X wont start after yesterdays Fedora 7 software update

winterman
29th June 2007, 09:07 AM
Sorry to be a bit vague I am still fairly new to linux (but not that new)..

Basically, as usual I ran Software Update yesterday (something I do everyday) and noticed one update that required a reboot, can't remember which one it was though but I assume it was another Kernel patch.

Following advice I received a while back from a Linux guru mate of mine I duly unchecked all of the other updates and installed that one on it's own and went for the reboot.

X is now refusing to load apparently due to a corrupt config. I know nothing about configuring X from the console so am a bit stuck.

I have an NVidia 6800GT gfx card which I have had no issues with so far apart from having to reinstall the drivers every now and then due to other Kernel patches.

Can someone offer any advice or point in the direction of a good guide on configuring/fixing X under Fedora 7. I can get console so should hopefully be able to sort it from there.

Many thanks and apologies for making my first post here a question.

Mic

leigh123linux
29th June 2007, 09:23 AM
can you post the output from the commands below

login as root

then type these commands

cat /var/log/yum.log | grep Updated

cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log | grep EE

cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log | grep WW

and

yum list *nvidia*

winterman
29th June 2007, 09:30 AM
Thanks for the quick response Leigh.. At the moment I am at work (the box is at home and not powered on).

I will try and get an update to you this evening. In the mean time I do use the kmod rpms from LIVNA and they were updated Tuesday successfully.

a_small_cake
29th June 2007, 10:42 AM
Maybe its NVidia driver version and Kernel version that don't match?

winterman
29th June 2007, 10:46 AM
I did try starting the OS with an earlier kernel build but to no avail..