PDA

View Full Version : Which repo to use?



cjnkns
29th June 2007, 02:28 AM
From the sticky post at the top it mentions pasting some code to create a new 32bit repo
Here is the thread -----
http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=158745

I was reading in another Fedora article that mentions not to use the livna repo and freshrpms repos together...I was curious why we can't? And if we can't which one has better software? Am i missign out if I do not use the other one?

Wangberg
29th June 2007, 02:43 AM
livna can be used all the time. i think the problem is when you mix the freshrpms repo with livna, they both contain some of the same packages, and the versions may be different. This will cause conflicts or packages will be overwritten when you don't want them to....

this was my take on it...i could be wrong

Seve
29th June 2007, 03:02 AM
Hello:
Wanberg, has it pretty much covered.
You can use either, however, you do not want both of them enabled all the time. Pick one or the other.
They don't play nice with each other : Special warning regarding mixing incompatible repositories for software installation and updates: (http://stanton-finley.net/fedora_core_5_installation_notes.html#Warning)
It's fine to install both of them and you can always use the
yum --enablrepo=xxxx install package
to install a package from the repo which is disabled.

Which has the better software ?
Browse through both :
http://moonshine.freshrpms.net/
http://livna-dl.reloumirrors.net/fedora/
and make up your own mind, they are roughly equal +/- :)

If you are just starting out with Fedora, I would suggest sticking with livna, if nothing more than most of the help / how-to's reference it on a regular basis. [Just my humble opinion]

Seve

cjnkns
29th June 2007, 03:33 AM
Thanks for the info!..

cjnkns
29th June 2007, 04:39 AM
I took a peek at this how to - http://www.howtoforge.com/the_perfect_desktop_fedora7
In this how to it uses the freshrpms repo and in this repo it looks like they have picasa available among other things... which I can not seem to find in the core 32 bit livna? is there a repo url for livna that has this?

andycon
13th July 2007, 09:14 PM
if you search around, or just read up on how to use yum, there are ways to have both repos installed, but only load one at a time when you run yum or yumex. since both repos have some packages that the other doesn't offer (i also have atrpms available to me in my yum config, for ivtv packages, but that also has conflicting packages i think, so i only load one at a time depending on what i need), it can be handy to have them all installed and just leave all but one turned off by default.

sailor
13th July 2007, 09:48 PM
If you use Fedora Frog to install some of the common multimedia codecs and applications it will mix repositories. Remember to disable or remove the the repos from yum once you use it.
I recommend using livna repository only...