PDA

View Full Version : Virtual drive for linux. Is there any?



The_Source_HIM
24th June 2007, 05:31 AM
Is there any cdrom emulator for linux? If there is, where can I get it?

Gnafu the Great
24th June 2007, 06:30 AM
If you want to mount a .iso file in Linux, simply use the "mount" command. Try this:


mount -o loop -t iso9660 [.iso path and name] /mnt/[previously created mount folder]

If it's something other than a .iso, search around for something called CDemu.

The_Source_HIM
24th June 2007, 06:41 AM
CDemu does not work. Not compatible with latest kernel :((

Gnafu the Great
24th June 2007, 06:43 AM
CDemu does not work. Not compatible with latest kernel :((

Aah, sorry. I haven't tried it recently, and I've only tried it in FC6 anyway. I'm guessing you're dealing with .bin/.cue files or the like?

EDIT: I've got to be going to bed, but a final tip: try a convertor to convert to .iso format (such as bin2iso and such).

The_Source_HIM
24th June 2007, 06:49 AM
Not only. Aslo .ccd/.img and .mds/.mdf. .nrg support would also be nice. Why isn't there a daemon tools for linux? :(

Gnafu the Great
24th June 2007, 06:53 AM
Not only. Aslo .ccd/.img and .mds/.mdf. .nrg support would also be nice. Why isn't there a daemon tools for linux? :(


Because there's CDemu ;). Try this page: http://wiki.linuxquestions.org/wiki/CD_Image_Conversion. I also found this page (http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/forum-replies-archive.cfm/499696.html) specifically regarding .nrg files.

The_Source_HIM
24th June 2007, 07:06 AM
Well, looks like it is just not destined to be. mdf2iso says my mdf file has unknown format. This utility needs update. Thanks for help anyway.

daneel971
24th June 2007, 08:13 AM
http://www.fedoraforum.org/forum/showthread.php?t=155936

The_Source_HIM
24th June 2007, 09:25 AM
All right I give up. Imagine that! This utility mounts everything properly EXCEPT one mdf image I need (DraculaX from TurboGrafX). DAEMON tools mount it properly in windows, but acetoneiso2 just does not want to. It's my karma I guess :)

The_Source_HIM
24th June 2007, 09:28 AM
Damn it. Can't mount any mdf. Bug?

bulletxt
26th June 2007, 06:51 PM
first be sure that you have latest fuseiso 20061017 installed, then be sure you can mount other type of images. if not, click under Help-> Activate Fuseiso and insert password.
if you still can't mount only mdf files but others are OK, then simply extract or convert the image, allways with acetoneiso2 from gui.
hope it helps