PDA

View Full Version : nVidia drivers F7

justinman27
16th June 2007, 09:08 PM
Hey guys,

I am brand new to linux, so of course i picked a brand new release to work through all the new bugs!!

So, i have an HP DV8000 laptop with dual core intel proc in it.

I am trying to get the drivers for my video card so i can get dual display up and running. Video card model:

nVidia geForce Go 7600

I had a tough time finding the driver for XP let alone the newest fedora release so any help would be appreciated!

Thanks everyone!(sorry for being a n00b)

The_Jaymz
16th June 2007, 09:14 PM
I have a 7300GT, and always use the driver from nvidia.com. I have to pass some options to it for it to run:
sh NVIDIA-Linux-x86-100.14.09-pkg1.run --x-module-path=/usr/lib/xorg/modules --x-library-path=/usr/lib

You'll need a development environment to do this:
yum -y isntall gcc-c++ xorg-x11-server-sdk

glennzo
16th June 2007, 09:25 PM
Would the kmod-nvidia driver help? Just a thought.

The_Jaymz
16th June 2007, 09:34 PM
Would the kmod-nvidia driver help? Just a thought.
That's certainly another way to go. I tried the livna driver, but didn't have much luck with it. Every time I ran something like google earth or even glxgears, X would crash. I know that many people use that method with much success, though.

Ioannis Nousias
16th June 2007, 09:56 PM
if you are using the livna nvidia packages, make sure that your /etc/X11/xorg.conf has the following in the 'Section "Files"'

ModulePath "/usr/lib/xorg/modules/extensions/nvidia"

this is where nvidia's libglx.so resides. Basically, those crashes that The_Jaymz is mentioning are due to wrong libglx.so being used (that of the Xorg packages).

Usually, you don't have to do anything, since by installing livna package it will also set the appropriate files, like xorg.conf. The above is for troubleshooting.

Another hint is to check the libGL.so shared object in use. You can do:
ldd /usr/bin/glxinfo