PDA

View Full Version : Wide screen moitor leaves wide side border



OralDeckard
13th June 2007, 12:40 PM
I just bought a new Optiquest Q20wb LCD widescreen monitor. Its native resolution is 1680x1050, and I have it set to that. But it leaves a 3" wide black unused space on the left side. The display is to narrow, showing circles as virtical ovals.

This monitor does not show up in the list when I attempt to configure my display settings, so I changed ModelName to "LCD Panel 1680x1050" in xorg.conf.

It has the correct resolution, just not the correct aspect ratio.
I changed the horizontal refresh rate, but X could no longer start, and I had to go back.

The xorg.conf is really emphatic about leaving horizontal and vertical refresh to DDC.
What is DDC ?

Anyway, here is the pertinent part of my xorg.conf:
Section "Monitor"

### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
Identifier "Monitor0"
ModelName "LCD Panel 1680x1050"
### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
HorizSync 31.0 - 96.0
VertRefresh 55.0 - 160.0
Option "dpms"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "radeon"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 24
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 16
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480" "1680x1050"
EndSubSection
EndSection

daneel971
13th June 2007, 12:54 PM
In the section "screen" add a "Modes" line in the Subsection Display under Depth 24. Start with 1680x1050.

OralDeckard
13th June 2007, 03:33 PM
Thank you daneel971. I tried it and it had no appreciable affect.
That section now looks like this:

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 24
Modes "1680x1050" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 16
Modes "1680x1050" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
EndSection

daneel971
13th June 2007, 07:37 PM
I have a ati radeon x700 pcie, with a widescreen monitor at 1680x1050.
Below is my xorg.conf. Maybe you will find some hint in it.
DO NOT use the "monitor" section as it is - your specs could be different than mine.

OralDeckard
13th June 2007, 08:34 PM
Thank you very much !

Actually, there are quite a few things in here that may yield results :)

OralDeckard
14th June 2007, 12:50 PM
And I have tried them, and they didn't yield the results I need :(

And yes, I have done the manual adjust on the monitor itself. It widened out to leave only a three inch wide empty space down along the left side :(

Art3mis
5th August 2007, 05:23 PM
Any solution on this? Got the same problem on my comp, running fedora 7. The monitor in question is an Asus MW221u.

tornbarb
6th October 2007, 03:59 PM
Iíve gone as far to download ATIís driver from their site and install. When I did this it blew everything out of the water so much so that I was forced to reload the OS. No big deal though (trial and error).

I was wondering if someone, anyone, can give us a simplified way of doing this? What steps, etc. Iím really wanting to use Fedora, but if the video wonít straighten out, Iíll be forced to go back to crapÖ.A.K.A. Windoze.

Thanks in advance.

--Torn

Art3mis
8th October 2007, 05:26 PM
Thanks for posting in this post, had forgotten all about it. The screen (Asus MW221u) works 100% fine with my Nvidia-based gentoo-box. I've given up on the one with ATI-card (wasn't intended for that box anyway).

tornbarb
8th October 2007, 06:41 PM
I'm just frustrated because this won't work, no matter how much trouble I go through. If anyone has any ideas on how to correct this problem please let me know.

grndplane
9th October 2007, 07:43 PM
I could be mistaken, but I thought the upper resolution of the Optiquest Q20wb was 1440 x 900? I am using it on an old Dell 2350 at 1280 x 1024 and it work pretty good except for wide screen movies are a little too wide :-) -Mike