PDA

View Full Version : VMware Won't Run



twilight.lair
3rd June 2007, 05:59 AM
Trying to find a suitable vmmon module for your running kernel.

None of the pre-built vmmon modules for VMware Workstation is suitable for your
running kernel. Do you want this program to try to build the vmmon module for
your system (you need to have a C compiler installed on your system)? [yes]

Using compiler "/usr/bin/gcc". Use environment variable CC to override.

What is the location of the directory of C header files that match your running
kernel? [/usr/src/linux/include]

The path "/usr/src/linux/include" is not an existing directory.

What is the location of the directory of C header files that match your running
kernel? [/usr/src/linux/include]


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------



What do I do?

Seve
3rd June 2007, 06:16 AM
Hello:
yum groupinstall "Development Tools"
yum install kernel-devel kernel-headers
then
wget http://ftp.cvut.cz/vmware/vmware-any-any-update109.tar.gz
then extract vmware-any-any-update109.tar.gz
and cd to vmware-any-any-update109
then ./runme.pl
Also you can have a look through the how-to Section here on the Forum How-To Articles (http://forum.fedoraforum.org/forumdisplay.php?f=12) or have a look here : Welcome to the VMTN Discussion Forums! (http://www.vmware.com/community/index.jspa?categoryID=1)

Seve

twilight.lair
3rd June 2007, 05:50 PM
I get this when running ./runme.pl

Unknown VMware version 4 installed. This isntaller only supports version 2 and 3.

Execution aborted.

moocha
4th June 2007, 08:41 PM
I get this when running ./runme.pl

Unknown VMware version 4 installed. This isntaller only supports version 2 and 3.

Execution aborted.Confirmed, I'm encountering the very same issue when trying the 109 any-any patch. Building vmnet and vmmon from the tarballs succeeds too but doesn't behave any differently from the modules included in the official installation (please see below).
Actually, vmware-config.pl seems to finish properly (out of the box, without even bothering to try the any-any patch). The modules get built, everything seems hunky-dory, but vmware-workstation seems to thin it's not configured yet and requires another vmware-config.pl. vmware-config.pl in turn tries to stop the vmware service, which tries to unload the vmnet / vmmon / vmblock modules, which fails. vmnet, for example, can't be unloaded because it's in use, and -f results in a resource busy message. Yup, I've pulled the interfaces down first via ip link, to no avail.
Oh, this is on a stock i686 Fedora 7 install (only a few hours old, mind you :D) [2.6.21-1.3194.fc7 #1 SMP]. Workstation 6 installed from VMware-workstation-6.0.0-45731.i386.rpm, md5sum 989c1ea700ac92d49b4f14ce2e71876f.
Giving up for now, 3 hours down the drain is enough.

sideways
4th June 2007, 08:59 PM
You can use the free server, version 1.03

http://www.vmware.com/download/server/

There is also an updated vmware-any-any-update110.tar.gz (http://platan.vc.cvut.cz/ftp/pub/vmware/vmware-any-any-update110.tar.gz)

if the installer is looking in /usr/src/linux for the kernel src then (after installing kernel-devel, see seve's post above) create this softlink first

ln -s /usr/src/kernels/$(uname -r)-$(uname -m) /usr/src/linux

Seve
4th June 2007, 09:02 PM
Hello:
It may be the difference between VmWare Server and the Workstation version .. ?

VMware Server is installed and working correctly here, on both F7 i686 and F7 x86_64.
VMware Server 1.0.3
VMware-server-1.0.3-44356.i386.rpm
using
vmware-any-any-update109

Seve

moocha
4th June 2007, 09:13 PM
You can use the free server, version 1.03

http://www.vmware.com/download/server/Yes, I'm aware of vmware-server, but it's unsuitable for my needs. I need proper USB 2.0 support, and most importantly I need the cloning and teaming facilities only available in the workstation edition. Unfortunately, VMware's per-incident support sort of isn't at the moment, especially for quote unsupported host operating systems unquote (in retrospective, paying for support wasn't a very wise decision on my part, since I never got anything useful out of them, or if I did I'd already fixed the problem myself - but ah well.)
There is also an updated vmware-any-any-update110.tar.gz (http://platan.vc.cvut.cz/ftp/pub/vmware/vmware-any-any-update110.tar.gz)Thank you, wasn't aware of 110.
if the installer is looking in /usr/src/linux for the kernel src then (after installing kernel-devel, see seve's post above) create this softlink first

ln -s /usr/src/kernels/$(uname -r)-$(uname -m) /usr/src/linuxThat's not the issue - everything builds perfectly, it just doesn't work once loaded :).
I'll see what I can whip up using any-any-110. Perhaps fiddling with SElinux (or disabling it entirely for the time being) will help - I'll share what I can find out.

moocha
4th June 2007, 09:31 PM
Okay, I looked through runme.pl and performed manually whatever it is that it wants:
determine the vmware binary directory (by default, /usr/bin, let's call it $BINDIR)
determine the vmware library directory (by default, usr/lib/vmware, let's call it $LIBDIR)
determine the init script directory (/etc/init.d, let's call it $INITDIR)
copy vmmon.tar and vmnet.tar into $LIBDIR/modules/source overwriting the existing files
run
./update vmware $BINDIR/vmware (does nothing for 109 and 110)
run
./update bridge $BINDIR/vmnet-bridge (does nothing for 109 and 110)
run
./update vmx $LIBDIR/bin/vmware-vmx (does nothing for 109 and 110)
run
[./update vmxdebug $LIBDIR/bin-debug/vmware-vmx (does nothing for 109 and 110)
Running vmware-config.pl I noticed the following (after answering the usual blah blah):
Unknown VMware Workstation 6.0.0 build 45731 detected. Building for Workstation 5.5.3.In short, the any-any patches won't work for the 6.0 series, since (d'oh, and I should have realized this) the GSX series (i.e. server) is based on the 5.x code.
Was worth a shot, though. I'll try the SElinux disabling thing...

JN4OldSchool
5th June 2007, 12:09 AM
Hello:
yum groupinstall "Development Tools"
yum install kernel-devel kernel-headers
then
wget http://ftp.cvut.cz/vmware/vmware-any-any-update109.tar.gz
then extract vmware-any-any-update109.tar.gz
and cd to vmware-any-any-update109
then ./runme.pl
Also you can have a look through the how-to Section here on the Forum How-To Articles (http://forum.fedoraforum.org/forumdisplay.php?f=12) or have a look here : Welcome to the VMTN Discussion Forums! (http://www.vmware.com/community/index.jspa?categoryID=1)

Seve

followed these directions to the letter and worked the charm for me. I think you should run the any any update BEFORE you run /usr/bin/vmware-config.pl? Maybe this was a problem?

edit: oops, I just bothered READING the rest of the thread :D Yeah, I dont think the server patch is gonna work on the workstation...

spooky2
6th June 2007, 02:48 AM
I just installed VMWare Workstation 6 on Fedora 7 & had no problems...the app updated everything automatically.

Before installing Workstation ...

su -

yum -y install gcc gcc-c++ kernel-devel

spooky2
6th June 2007, 03:06 AM
Sorry forgot to mention you can install it after installing the workstation then configure it.

moocha
6th June 2007, 10:31 AM
Yes, all required packages had already been installed prior to even downloading W6's evaluation version, yet the problem still persists. I've given up on Workstation 6 for now.

slade17
6th June 2007, 04:27 PM
i got vmware server 1.0.3 working yesterday by following seve's instructions. i didnt groupinstall development tools, just installed the kernel headers/devel, gcc, and some other stuff separately, which apparently was enough for vmware to configure but not correctly. this is the first time i've had vmware running on fedora, i've only been able to get it working on debian before.

moocha
9th June 2007, 04:00 PM
Quick update - Workstation 5 (the latest version, 5.5.4, using the RPM provided by VMware) works flawlessly after applying the latest any-any patch. Still not a peep out of Workstation 6. The system is identical, so it's definitely a Workstation 6 bug.