PDA

View Full Version : Opera repository



seakiwi
2nd June 2007, 08:32 AM
Can somebody please tell me what repository I can add to provide Opera updates?

Seve
2nd June 2007, 10:08 AM
Hello:
As far as I am aware there isn't one.
Just go here Opera Download (http://www.opera.com/download/) to download and periodically check your /Help/Check for updates
tab and you should be good to go

Seve

VictorienSardou
8th June 2007, 10:26 AM
opera only provide repository support for debian based distros.
http://www.opera.com/support/search/view/841/

krell
16th June 2007, 04:48 PM
um check again
http://www.opera.com/download/

looks like fedora is there!

VictorienSardou
17th June 2007, 11:35 AM
um, there is a difference between download support and repository support.

if you visit this URL, you will see 3 options:
http://www.adobe.com/shockwave/download/download.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash
option 2 is for downloading the latest version of flash in a rpm.
option 3 is for downloading the .repo file which gets placed in /etc/yum.repos.d/
it can then be installed with
# yum install flash-plugin
and flash will get updated automatically when yum updates the system.

opera only provide repository support for debian.
opera provide download support for both debian and fedora.

seakiwi
18th June 2007, 11:19 PM
um, there is a difference between download support and repository support.

if you visit this URL, you will see 3 options:
http://www.adobe.com/shockwave/download/download.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash
option 2 is for downloading the latest version of flash in a rpm.
option 3 is for downloading the .repo file which gets placed in /etc/yum.repos.d/
it can then be installed with
# yum install flash-plugin
and flash will get updated automatically when yum updates the system.

opera only provide repository support for debian.
opera provide download support for both debian and fedora.

Many thanks! That's exactly what I was looking for :)

kevmif
19th June 2007, 02:22 AM
Just download and install the RPM's :)

sojourner
27th September 2007, 03:45 AM
opera usualy check for updates itsself when you start it unless you have disabled that , its on by default.also you can manualy check for updates , in the opera menu bar help>check for updates.

Illuvator
11th December 2007, 09:43 PM
Hi there, I appreciate opera don't have a repository, but which version should you download - given the fact that they don't offer a fedora 8 RPM - I presume a FC7 could be used, but is this the case?
Il

kevmif
12th December 2007, 12:27 AM
Fedora 7 RPM works fine :)