PDA

View Full Version : trouble installing VMWare Workstation 6...



HMSS013
1st June 2007, 10:33 PM
half-way through the install it prompts for the "Directory containing the C header files for my

What is the location of the directory of C header files that match your running
kernel? [/usr/src/linux/include]

i am using 2.6.18-1.2798.fc6 ...(the default kernel with the FC6 install)

does anyone have experience with the VMWare installation and know what path the installer is looking for?

sideways
1st June 2007, 11:02 PM
make this softlink before running vmware-config


ln -s /usr/src/kernels/2.6.18-1.2798.fc6-i686 /usr/src/linux

Ensure you have the kernel-devel package installed (it's on the install disc in Fedora/RPMS, install using 'rpm -ihv kernel-devel-2.6.18-1.2798.fc6.i686.rpm')

leigh123linux
1st June 2007, 11:21 PM
You might want to check your kernel arch as well

rpm -qa --queryformat "%{NAME}-%{VERSION}-%{RELEASE}.%{ARCH}\n"|grep kernel|sort

If its a i586 follow link to fix

http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=139751

HMSS013
1st June 2007, 11:37 PM
You might want to check your kernel arch as well

rpm -qa --queryformat "%{NAME}-%{VERSION}-%{RELEASE}.%{ARCH}\n"|grep kernel|sort

If its a i586 follow link to fix

http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=139751


kernel-2.6.18-1.2798.fc6.i586
kernel-devel-2.6.18-1.2798.fc6.i686
kernel-headers-2.6.18-1.2798.fc6.i386

(all the originals from the FC6 cd)

i assume that i must reinstall FC6 to make the change you mentioned... and i am unsure as to when it prompts me to type 'linux i686'

HMSS013
1st June 2007, 11:50 PM
make this softlink before running vmware-config


ln -s /usr/src/kernels/2.6.18-1.2798.fc6-i686 /usr/src/linux

Ensure you have the kernel-devel package installed (it's on the install disc in Fedora/RPMS, install using 'rpm -ihv kernel-devel-2.6.18-1.2798.fc6.i686.rpm')

it accepts the path but returns this:

Unable to make a vmmon module that can be loaded in the running kernel:
insmod: error inserting '/tmp/vmware-config1/vmmon.o': -1 Invalid module format
There is probably a slight difference in the kernel configuration between the
set of C header files you specified and your running kernel. You may want to
rebuild a kernel based on that directory, or specify another directory.

HMSS013
1st June 2007, 11:59 PM
kernel-2.6.18-1.2798.fc6.i586
kernel-devel-2.6.18-1.2798.fc6.i686
kernel-headers-2.6.18-1.2798.fc6.i386

(all the originals from the FC6 cd)

i assume that i must reinstall FC6 to make the change you mentioned... and i am unsure as to when it prompts me to type 'linux i686'


i see here that my development is i686 and does not match my i586 kernel... i have scince removed it and installed the development i586... made a new link and will try the install again.

sideways
2nd June 2007, 12:01 AM
You have the i586 kernel bug (http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Bugs/FC6Common#head-e0676100ebd965b92fbaa7111097983a3822f143)

Download and run the Kernel Fix Script from that link, or if you want to do it with the original install kernel from the install disc, the i686 kernel is in Fedora/RPMS


rpm -ihv --replacefiles --replacepkgs kernel-2.6.18-1.2798.fc6.i686.rpm

sideways
2nd June 2007, 12:05 AM
duplicated my post accidentally, see below

sideways
2nd June 2007, 12:05 AM
i see here that my development is i686 and does not match my i586 kernel... i have scince removed it and installed the development i586... made a new link and will try the install again.

That will work, but is not the best solution, you really want an i686 kernel for any cpu produced this century, reinstall both kernel and kernel-devel i686 rpms from the install disc using the rpm command posted above.

HMSS013
2nd June 2007, 12:18 AM
it works!!!

thanks for all the help sideways... you've saved me once again

sideways
2nd June 2007, 12:21 AM
cool, you're lucky to have vmware workstation, I run the free vmware server and have found it to be one of the most excellent,reliable and powerful apps available for fedora

With FC7 they seem to be pushing virtualization with xen, so over the summer I'm gonna experiment.

EDIT

if you update your kernel, don't forget to remove the softlink and recreate it to point to the updated kernel directory.