PDA

View Full Version : F7 commands



sooqing
1st June 2007, 07:28 PM
Using F7 liveCD, booted and set up my network connection. First, I wanted to set up my connection:

ifconfig is missing?

Then, I wanted to set up my firewall:

iptables is missing?

Anyone?

leigh123linux
1st June 2007, 07:31 PM
Try su - ( dont forget the dash )

su -
iptables

markjensen
1st June 2007, 08:34 PM
Yeah, the problem is that you are (likely) trying to run these from your user account, probably "su"ed to root. But your user account doesn't have /sbin/ in its $PATH, so it won't find those executables that reside there.

Three solutions come to mind.
1) already posted, use the "-" in there to tell su to use the new $PATH from the account you su into. (root, in this case)
2) preface your sbin commands with the full path, so you would /sbin/ifconfig, instead of just plain ifconfig
3) Add the /sbin/ directories into your user's $PATH

I chose option #3 for my solution to this years ago. :)