PDA

View Full Version : Yahoo Messenger

_Entropy__
31st May 2007, 03:35 AM
Hi guys .. Linux newbie here :D I was wondering if i could install yahoo msngr in my fedora 6 machine :confused: . After searching in google i came up with this thread which explains how to install yahoo messenger in fedora 6 . Here is the link http://forum.bayanihan.gov.ph/viewtopic.php?t=416&start=0&postdays=0&postorder=asc&highlight=&sid=6daabf2a8d47bad7bb058214cda6929a

I did exactly as directed there . I installed the font files , restarted my computer and when i tried to install yahoo messenger this is what i get

[root@localhost ~]# cd /home
[root@localhost home]# rpm -Uvh rh9.ymessenger-1.0.4-1.i386.rpm
error: Failed dependencies:
gdk-pixbuf >= 0.8.0 is needed by ymessenger-1.0.4-1.i386
libgdk-1.2.so.0 is needed by ymessenger-1.0.4-1.i386
libgdk_pixbuf.so.2 is needed by ymessenger-1.0.4-1.i386
libglib-1.2.so.0 is needed by ymessenger-1.0.4-1.i386
libgmodule-1.2.so.0 is needed by ymessenger-1.0.4-1.i386
libgtk-1.2.so.0 is needed by ymessenger-1.0.4-1.i386
[root@localhost home]#

Can someone plz help me ??? :(

helter
31st May 2007, 03:59 AM
As far as I can recall, Yahoo! hasn't updated their official messenger for Linux in years.

Your best bet would be using Pidgin (http://www.pidgin.im) (formerly known as GAIM) for Yahoo! and many other IM services.

_Entropy__
31st May 2007, 04:12 AM
As far as I can recall, Yahoo! hasn't updated their official messenger for Linux in years.

Your best bet would be using Pidgin (http://www.pidgin.im) (formerly known as GAIM) for Yahoo! and many other IM services.

I am not sure .. I got the linux version of yahoo messy from here http://messenger.yahoo.com/unix.php;_ylt=AgNoKXSkzX15EivJuj.xiYlwMMIF