PDA

View Full Version : hmmm.... video drivers maybe?



davfel
31st May 2007, 03:13 AM
Hi,

I have been running (happily I might add) fedora 7 test 4 for a while now and it just recently (today) updated itself. Well. all of my fonts and displays changed to so small I can barely see them. So I went and and looked first at my display properties, and that had not changed so I changed it to 800 x 600 and now I am not able to get it back to any size larger than that.... it used to give me all kinds of screen resolutions...now only 2 (800x600 and 640x480). I have an nvidia geforce 6600 card and I always just used the default driver for it lately, that is the driver the OS detected at install. I guess I should load the right driverbut I am not positive on how to do this in F&.

any help appreciated,
thanks
dave

Dies
31st May 2007, 03:21 AM
I'm pretty sure Livna is up so just DL the release rpm for F7 then

yum install kmod-nvidia -y

should be good to go after a reboot, if not then rename your xorg.conf and run

nvidia-xconfig

as root, then restart X.

davfel
31st May 2007, 03:29 AM
Thanks Dies,

but it just says nothing to do.

dave

Dies
31st May 2007, 03:31 AM
Can you do a

yum list *nvidia*

or

yum search *nvidia*

and post what you get, the whole thing.

davfel
31st May 2007, 03:34 AM
hi,
i guess i have to add the livna repo?

dave

Dies
31st May 2007, 03:46 AM
hi,
i guess i have to add the livna repo?

dave


Umm, yeah. :p

Head to this page and DL the release rpm for Fedora 7

http://rpm.livna.org/

you can double-click to install it, then give it another shot.

davfel
31st May 2007, 03:58 AM
hi,

doing that returns this


Missing Dependency: fedora-release >= 7 is needed by package livna-release



uname -r returns
2.6.21-1.3194.fc7

dave

Dies
31st May 2007, 04:02 AM
Ooo...that's not good.

hmm...maybe I will wait a few days before installing.

Edit - You can always just download the rpms you need then put them in a folder and do

rpm -ivh *

I think you need

kmod-nvidia
xorg-driver-nvidia
livna-config-display

Not sure about the names but I should be pretty close, just make sure the kmod is the right one for your kernel.

davfel
31st May 2007, 04:06 AM
how might one remove livna release 6?

dave

Dies
31st May 2007, 04:11 AM
how might one remove livna release 6?

dave

yum remove livna-release

You might want to do a clean install.

davfel
31st May 2007, 04:18 AM
there has got to be a way to fix this....
dave

:(