PDA

View Full Version : Mounting windows Partitions !!

_Entropy__
29th May 2007, 07:40 AM
Hi guys ........

I am completely new to the world of Linux . I found myself a copy of Fedora core 6 . Installation was bug free except for the out of range error which i did sort out . But now the problem is , i am not able to mount windows partitions . I have searched and did come across lots of threads that explains how to mount windows partitions , but something seems to be going wrong . This is the command i gave to mount my fat 32 partitions

mkdir/media/windows

mount/dev/hda1/media/windows/ -t vfat -o iocharset=utf8 , umask=000

I picked this from another site . Is this the way to mount fat32 partitions or am i doing it wrong

everytime i execute this command i get the error message :

mkdir/media/windows No such file or directory .

Can smeone plz guide me on how to mount my fat 32 partitions . I will be greatfull . TNx :)

I am sorry if this topic has already been discussed in the forums . But I cud not find it !!

giulix
29th May 2007, 08:39 AM
There should be a space between the command and its argument(s)/parameter(s), like

mkdir /media/windows
mount /dev/hda1 /media/windows

As you can see, after both mkdir and mount a space must separate the command from its argument(s)/parameter(s)
Also, check each command syntax with

man <command>

For example:

man mount

_Entropy__
30th May 2007, 12:13 PM
Thanks !!! You are right . I made the same mistake u mentioned . I had not given a space b/w the command and the argument . Thanks a lot :)

_Entropy__
30th May 2007, 12:18 PM
I have one more problem . I am all set to completely shift to Linux . But there is a problem when i boot up my fedora . The bootup hangs at "starting sendmail" service . I never had any problem until i had set up my eth0 . Can one plz enlighten me whats going wrong :(

giulix
30th May 2007, 12:38 PM
Not enough info: Check /var/log/maillog for any error messages

itsthescottdog