PDA

View Full Version : Java Support

ttx336
19th May 2007, 04:35 PM
I am new to Linux but I have quite a lot of experience with other operating systems. I am trying to enable Java support for Mozilla, I have followed the instructions from Java as best I can but have had no luck. So far I have downloaded the latest file from Java, jre-6u1-linux-i586-rpm.bin, switched to the command line mode, created a java directory under /usr changed the permission so it could be executed, installed it, received the "DONE" message, next I went on to the Enable and Configure section. I created the symbolic link to the plugin as instructed and tested the installation but I still get the error message that there is a missing plugin. I have also tried copying the libjavaplugin_oji.so file to the mozilla/plugins directory, etc.

I see that there are two mozilla driectories under /usr/lib though, one is mozilla and the other is mozilla-1.7.12, I have tried working with both of them to no avail. Also, when I use the Help/About I see that Mozilla reports 1.5.0.1 I expected to see 1.7.12 since there is a mozilla-1.7.12 name.

After I made the symbolic link I used the ls command and observed that there was this name that was flashing red, it was libjavaplugin.oji.so which only varied slightly from the original filename of libjavaplugin_oji.so, just the underscore changed to a dot. Does this flashing red indicate a problem?

I am disappointed that this had taken so much effort, I had hoped I would like using Linux but so far this has been frustrating. I really hate Windows and am trying to make a switch, I would appreciate any help.

Regards, Gary

Alex135
19th May 2007, 04:43 PM
Well i have found that this page ( http://stanton-finley.net/fedora_core_5_installation_notes.html )
Works great for instructions for FC6 even though it was intended for FC5.
It doens't work perfectly, but some java aps do work.
Some dont however, but its better to have some then none right?
good luck

- Alex135