PDA

View Full Version : 550 errors in sendmail



whoa
19th May 2007, 01:56 PM
hi everyone!
im trying to setup a mail server. uw-imap works fine (i can retrieve e-mails from an external computer), but trying to send a mail from my server or to my server wont work.
If i try to send an email to let's say admin@mydomain.com, i am given the error '550 Unkown recipient', even though the account exists and is in my virtusertable.
If im trying to send and email from admin@mydomain.com, i am given the error "550 5.7.1 <me@myisp.com>... Relaying denied".
I have been trying to follow a whole bunch of different tutorials on how to setup“sendmail, but i just cant get it right :(.
Any help would be great !

lmo
19th May 2007, 02:10 PM
Post the output of these commands for some clues:
uname -a
hostname
cat /etc/hosts
cat /etc/sysconfig/network
/sbin/chkconfig --list | grep sendmail

whoa
19th May 2007, 02:20 PM
thanks for your reply :)

uname -a

Linux btdig.com 2.6.19-1.2911.fc6 #1 SMP Sat Feb 10 15:16:31 EST 2007 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux

hostname

btdig.com

cat /etc/hosts


# Do not remove the following line, or various programs
# that require network functionality will fail.
127.0.0.1 localhost.localdomain localhost
btdig.com btdig.com btdig


cat /etc/sysconfig/network


NETWORKING=yes
HOSTNAME=btdig.com


/sbin/chkconfig --list | grep sendmail

sendmail 0:av 1:av 2:pƄ 3:pƄ 4:pƄ 5:pƄ 6:av
(running swedish language pack, so av would be off and på (or 'pĆ„') is on)

lmo
19th May 2007, 04:13 PM
Look again at your /etc/hosts and then look at the man page for hosts
For each host a single line should be present with
the following information:

IP_address canonical_hostname [aliases...]Does it look correct? My first guess is that the man page says that the leftmost entries should be IP_adresses.

whoa
19th May 2007, 04:26 PM
Look again at your /etc/hosts and then look at the man page for hostsDoes it look correct? My first guess is that the man page says that the leftmost entries should be IP_adresses.
ok, ill try that. the reason why i put the domain name there was because the ip address of the server is dynamic :/

edit:
ok, changed the hosts file to


# Do not remove the following line, or various programs
# that require network functionality will fail.
127.0.0.1 localhost.localdomain localhost
80.217.170.126 btdig.com btdig

and rebooted. still same problems :/

lmo
19th May 2007, 05:48 PM
For local mail, it seems to use the 127.0.0.1 line in /etc/hosts and on mine, I have it *analogous to
127.0.0.1 btdig.com localhost.localdomain localhost
And I can type a mail message to root
mail root
Subject: Hi root
Bla bla bla
.
and then read it with
mail -u rootOf course, that is just local mail.
By *analogous, I mean instead of btdig.com, on my system it is my hostname.
I don't know whether this would impact mail other than local mail or not.
And just because it works for me, it doesn't mean that it is correct.

whoa
19th May 2007, 06:09 PM
thanks for your help once again!
i tried changing the hosts file to what you suggested, but unfortunately i still got the same problem :(.
local mail works fine though.