PDA

View Full Version : libdts.so.0 dependency not installed?



Alex135
18th May 2007, 09:17 PM
I have searched high and low for this dep, and i have not been able to find it... i tried to install ffmpeg and it other apps before and i thinks its not there, i tried to install ffmpeg using yum but its not working.

I use FC6, can anyone help me find i way to fix this without reinstalling fedora?
Replay as soon as possible please :)

doss
18th May 2007, 09:34 PM
try this:


su -
yum --enablerepo=livna install libdca


hope this helps

Alex135
18th May 2007, 11:34 PM
thats the first thing i tried... its installed and updated... That was a great awnser though. sure wish it was the right one...

doss
18th May 2007, 11:37 PM
try:


rpm --rebuilddb


worth a shot

jdeslip
19th May 2007, 12:47 AM
Perhaps you are running 64 bit and the dependency needs the 32 bit version - if so download the i386 rpm directly from livna and install it with rpm -ivh.

Alex135
19th May 2007, 01:05 AM
I already tried that :( it didn't work... thx anyway
and i know im running 32bit, this is a 32 bit chip, and i know its 32bit FC6, my MB is so old it doesn't support 64bit CPU's, and so i dont have one

Seve
19th May 2007, 01:26 AM
Hello:

libdts.so.0 is included with the libdca.i386 rpm from livna
provides
/usr/lib/libdts.so.0
/usr/share/doc/libdts.so.0.0.0
/usr/share/doc/libdca-0.0.2/libdca-0.0.2

libdca-devel
provides
/usr/include/dts.h
/usr/lib/libdts.so
/usr/lib/pkgconfig/libdts.pc
/usr/share/doc/libdca-devel-0.0.2
/usr/share/doc/libdca-devel-0.0.2/TODO


Seve

daneel971
19th May 2007, 06:23 AM
libdts was some time ago renamed to libdca. The libdca rpms is built with "provides: libdts".

Alex135
19th May 2007, 04:32 PM
libdca is already installed, and it doesn't need updating.
should i uninstall it? will it remove most of my stuff if i do? (it pobably will with all the things that need it)
what do i do to get this thing fixed? maby its something to do with yum? it probably doesn't know that the rpm is there... but im not sure.
what do i do to fix the problem (if i can)
(libdca was installed automaticly with FC6... maby i file got deleted?)

lazlow
19th May 2007, 05:41 PM
Alex

What repos do you have active?

I suspect that you have multiple active (excluding core and extras). This has probably led you into what is known as repo hell. As a general rule you cannot mix repos (it can be done but you better know exactly what you are doing). libdca from livna is the same as libdca from freshrpms. If you have a package from freshrpms that requires libdca, the one from livna will not work. The reverse is true as well.

Alex135
19th May 2007, 05:46 PM
dries
poptop-stable
livna
core
core-source
updates
freshrpms
pptp-stable
macromedia
extras

Those are all the ones that are enabled

Seve
19th May 2007, 07:31 PM
Hello:
Open a terminal and log in as root
then
updatedb
then post the output of
locate libdts.so.0

Seve

doss
19th May 2007, 07:34 PM
dries
poptop-stable
livna
core
core-source
updates
freshrpms
pptp-stable
macromedia
extras

Those are all the ones that are enabled

it is highly recommended by people that are much smarter than me to NOT use dries, livna, and freshrpms together. most people here recommened livna as it seems to have most everything you will need and for that rare package you could do


yum --enablerepo=dries install <package>

(where dries is of course the repo that contains the package

Alex135
19th May 2007, 07:37 PM
[root@localhost ~]# locate libdts.so.0
[root@localhost ~]#

thats a bit odd, it doesn't have any output...

doss
19th May 2007, 07:41 PM
post the output of this:



rpm -qa | grep -i libdca

Seve
19th May 2007, 07:45 PM
[root@localhost ~]# locate libdts.so.0
[root@localhost ~]#

thats a bit odd, it doesn't have any output...
Hello:
Which, if you ran updatedb first, would indicate that you do not have it installed.
The same command run here :

# locate libdts.so.0
/usr/lib/libdts.so.0
/usr/lib/libdts.so.0.0.0



what is the output of
rpm -aq | grep libdca

Seve

Alex135
19th May 2007, 07:47 PM
[root@localhost ~]# rpm -qa | grep -i libdca
libdca-0.0.2-4.fc6.rf
[root@localhost ~]#

doss
19th May 2007, 07:50 PM
thats the problem...you are probably installing a livna package...i dont knwo what seve is going to recommend but i would d/l the package (http://rpm.livna.org/fedora/6/i386/libdca-0.0.2-3.lvn6.i386.rpm) from livna

and try installing the rpm with rpm -i

this is going to fail so you will have to do a



rpm -i --force

Alex135
19th May 2007, 08:03 PM
[root@localhost ~]# rpm -i --force libdca-0.0.2-3.lvn6.i386.rpm
[root@localhost ~]# updatedb
[root@localhost ~]# locate libdts.so.0
/usr/lib/libdts.so.0
/usr/lib/libdts.so.0.0.0
[root@localhost ~]#
finally... thats all?
thanks for the help.. this thing is such a pain :P

doss
19th May 2007, 08:04 PM
its because of the muiltable repos...you should consider disabling some (dries, freshrpms)

doss
19th May 2007, 08:06 PM
just out of curiosity what is now the output of



rpm -qa | grep -i libdca


??

Alex135
19th May 2007, 08:09 PM
[root@localhost ~]# rpm -qa | grep -i libdca
libdca-0.0.2-4.fc6.rf
libdca-0.0.2-3.lvn6
[root@localhost ~]#

doss
19th May 2007, 08:10 PM
what i expected! ;) you wont have anymore problems with THAT dep...hehe

fdiprete
15th May 2008, 01:06 PM
libdts is not in the livna libdca rpm in fedora 8

[fdiprete@thurston ~]$ rpm -ql libdca-0.0.5-2.lvn8
/usr/lib/libdca.so.0
/usr/lib/libdca.so.0.0.0
/usr/share/doc/libdca-0.0.5
/usr/share/doc/libdca-0.0.5/AUTHORS
/usr/share/doc/libdca-0.0.5/COPYING
/usr/share/doc/libdca-0.0.5/ChangeLog
/usr/share/doc/libdca-0.0.5/NEWS
/usr/share/doc/libdca-0.0.5/README

now what?