PDA

View Full Version : xp on primary, now want fedora on secondary drive.



tskochanski
27th April 2004, 05:25 PM
I posted a while back about basically wiping out my raid 0 array after installing fedora. Or at least not being able to access it. Anyway, I have broken my array into 2 drives a primary and a secondary, both on the same ribbon.

The primary drive is my winxp drive and I want to install fedora on the secondary drive. at start up I want the option to boot to either fedora or winxp although winxp will be the default for now.

I know that when I install fedora it will install grub on my primary drive even though fedora is to be installed on my secondary drive. last time grub could not identify winxp on my raid and i wound up losing everything. I want to make sure that I get the grub loader part right during the install. Can somebody walk me through this important part of the install process?

Tim

ghenry
27th April 2004, 08:10 PM
Useless I am wrong, you can't raid 0 two different drives, i.e. have two different OS on them, as they won't be stripped. Therefore this should work fine.

logan5
27th April 2004, 09:15 PM
Google is your friend. Do a search for "dual booting windows and linux"

Here's one that I found that looks OK.

http://www.overclockersclub.com/guides/dual_boot_fedora_xp.php

But basically just have Windows installed first on your primary hard disk (fat would be the best choice for file systems so you can access it later from Linux), then install Linux. Let grub install and it will give you the choice to have windows (dos) or Linux be the default OS. It really isn't too complicated, unless you are trying to install on raid. Just read the questions and understand that your primary hard disk will be something like “hda” and the slave is “hdb”.

tskochanski
27th April 2004, 10:44 PM
I got it. Much easier than with the RAID array. I just followed the dialog boxes and all went well. hda is my primary where xp is already installed and hdb is my secondary which is now 100% fedora. It was a bit confusing to see DOS instead of xp for my OS on hda during the boot loader config. but if you hit the edit button you can change dos to winxp or whatever. I do miss my raid but oh well...maybe i'll attempt that again later. these 7200 rpm IBM's spin pretty fast anyway. Thanks for everyones assistance on this.

Tim

gonzalo76
28th April 2004, 02:53 AM
I know this issue is resolved, but maybe you want to take a look at my howtos:

http://www.fedoraforum.org/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=975

http://www.fedoraforum.org/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=996

greetings