PDA

View Full Version : Best 64-bit distro

ihavenoname
16th May 2007, 10:36 PM
Hello, I'm looking into buying a laptop with the 64bit Core 2 Duo processor. I want to know from your experiance what the best 64bit distro? I am not a novice, not to sound elitest or anything, but I also don't want to HAVE to do things the hardway. My question is simple, what is the "best" 64bit distro? By that I mean which distro has 64bit support for everything (it would be nice if the package manager was good at deal w/ 64bit as well, I hate having to hack around that). Also I am wondering, have you noticed performance gains from using a 64bit OS as opposed to a 32 bit os?

Any advice at all about 64bit is welecome. I ask here because I have seen Fedora users to not be TOO bias about distros. If fedora is the best one then excellent, if not I am not too worried. I just want a good 64bit distro that is also fairly stable (without being outdated)

AlphOmega
16th May 2007, 11:31 PM
Ubuntu is raved about for simplicity so maybe try their 64 bit.

As for noticeable difference, nope none. However, I some times compress rather large files into archives and this is noticably faster on 64 bit, but day to day stuff cant tell the difference.

hiberphoptik
16th May 2007, 11:45 PM

As for noticeable difference, nope none. However, I some times compress rather large files into archives and this is noticably faster on 64 bit, but day to day stuff cant tell the difference.

I agree.. in fact when F7 comes out Im going to install the 32-bit version on my 64-bit machine because I won't have to have multiple versions of the same app/libraries, 32-bit compatible nvidia libraries, hacks to get flash to play in firefox, and various other 64-bit headaches

ihavenoname
17th May 2007, 12:51 AM