PDA

View Full Version : Some help for newbie moving from OpenSuse to F7

fesahin
16th May 2007, 12:32 PM
Hi everyone,

As I tell in the title, I am a newbie for linux (I have recently moved from Windows to Linux).

At first I have installed OpenSuse 10.2 on my laptop (hp compaq nx7010), my main aim was to try compiz or beryl.

But I could not install the ATI drivers on my laptops and Compiz runs terrible without them.

So as an alternative I decided to move to Fedora Core, I will wait for Fedora 7 and install it.

My questions are as follows, I liked YAST a lot on Suse ( it is quite helpful for newbies), is there a similar program for Fedora?

Will installing the device drivers (for Ati mobility Radeon 9200) be possible on Fedora 7?

leigh123linux
16th May 2007, 12:59 PM
Will installing the device drivers (for Ati mobility Radeon 9200) be possible on Fedora 7?

No the ati driver version 8.28 wont work ( which is the highest version that your 9200 will work with ) with FC7 , you will have to use the radeon driver instead.

as for a yast equivalent NO

The only distro I know that will support you card fully is Debian Etch which still uses 8.28 ( screenshot )

A.Serbinski
16th May 2007, 06:18 PM
My questions are as follows, I liked YAST a lot on Suse ( it is quite helpful for newbies), is there a similar program for Fedora?
pirut

ATI drivers were never any good. Might work, probably wont.

leigh123linux
16th May 2007, 06:24 PM
pirut

YaST2 is a tool for administering and maintaining a SUSE Linux installation. It allows administrators to install software, configure hardware, setup networks and servers, and more.

you are joking :rolleyes:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/YaST

A.Serbinski
16th May 2007, 06:57 PM
There's also system-config-control, but those GUI configuration programs never give you the kind of management over software that you want.