PDA

View Full Version : Yum Error in FC6



leeshellard
13th May 2007, 01:18 PM
Hi im new to this forum ive had a look round and tryed a few things but i cant seem to fix this problem.
Fedora Core 6
I cant install rpm files it just sits doing nothing. And doing a yum update in terminal it errors saying:-

There was a problem importing one of the Python modules
required to run yum. The error leading to this problem was:

No module named cElementTree

Please install a package which provides this module, or
verify that the module is installed correctly.

It's possible that the above module doesn't match the
current version of Python, which is:
2.4.4 (#1, Oct 23 2006, 13:58:00)
[GCC 4.1.1 20061011 (Red Hat 4.1.1-30)]

If you cannot solve this problem yourself, please go to
the yum faq at:
http://wiki.linux.duke.edu/YumFaq



Please Please Help!!!!

Dies
13th May 2007, 01:39 PM
Why do I get the feeling you're leaving something out ?

Yup, I'm pretty sure we're not getting the whole story here.... :)

So why don't you fill in the gaps, such as when was the last time yum worked ? what happened between then and now ? any updates ? did you remove anything ? ...

leeshellard
13th May 2007, 01:43 PM
Right yum worked about 1 hour ago. I did a yum update and there was a message about neededing to update a dependancy i think it was eather to do with mplayer or cacti.
Both seem to beworking as much as i can tell.

Dies
13th May 2007, 01:57 PM
Look in /var/log/yum.log and see exactly what packages were involved in that update, that might help someone realize what went wrong. Not sure if you need to be root or not to view those logs, if so the easiest way would probably be

su -
nautilus /var/log

leigh123linux
13th May 2007, 02:02 PM
Can you post the output of this command :eek:



cat /var/log/yum.log | grep Erased

leeshellard
13th May 2007, 02:09 PM
May 11 21:02:56 Erased: motion
May 13 12:27:29 Installed: lame-libs.i386 3.97-4.lvn6
May 13 12:27:30 Updated: faad2.i386 2.5-1.fc3.rf
May 13 12:27:30 Installed: x264.i386 0.0.0-0.3.20061214.fc3.rf
May 13 12:27:31 Installed: ffmpeg-libs.i386 0.4.9-0.35.20070204.lvn6
May 13 12:27:33 Updated: python-elementtree.i386 1.2.6-7.fc3.rf
May 13 12:27:33 Updated: lame.i386 3.97-4.lvn6
May 13 12:27:36 Updated: syslinux.i386 3.20-1.fc3.rf
May 13 12:27:37 Updated: cacti-docs.noarch 0.8.6j-1.fc3.rf
May 13 12:27:38 Updated: ffmpeg.i386 0.4.9-0.35.20070204.lvn6
May 13 12:27:39 Updated: rpmforge-release.i386 0.3.6-1.fc3.rf


Everything was working before may 13 12:27

Dies
13th May 2007, 02:28 PM
rpmforge...

I don't use them, but why do some of those rpms have fc3 in the name :confused:


Edit - Oh yeah, I would lecture you on how it's not good to mix third party repos, but at this point I think you know why. :D

leeshellard
13th May 2007, 03:19 PM
i had to install the rpmforge yesterday to install something was about to uninstall it today.... Help how can i fix this.
I have no idea why some of them say fc3. The original cacti install was a fc3 rpm but was upgraded using yum ages ago.

Dies
13th May 2007, 03:39 PM
Not sure how you can fix it, but a good start would be to get rid of the rpmforge package, does rpm still work?

su -
rpm -e rpmforge-release.i386

if that works then head here

http://download.fedora.redhat.com/pub/fedora/linux/core/6/i386/os/Fedora/RPMS/

and download the python-elementtree-1.2.6-5.i386.rpm rpm then try to install it with

rpm -ivh python-elementtree-1.2.6-5.i386.rpm

you may have to use --replacefiles --replacepkgs options if it doesn't want to install or remove the one you have now if there aren't any deps.

Assuming that works and yum is back to normal you will want to go through and remove ALL the fc3 packages and yum install the right ones.

Good Luck.

And in the future don't mix third party repos pick a group and stick with it, if you need packages from other repos disable the repo and only enable it temporarily when you need it.

leigh123linux
13th May 2007, 03:44 PM
If you have no yum or rpm you could try posts # 6 & 7 and use yum from a livecd or another distro ( I have used Debian to do this )

http://forums.fedoraforum.org/forum/showthread.php?t=154833

leeshellard
13th May 2007, 03:51 PM
rpforge-release.i386 removed fine downloaded rpm and get this

rpm -ivh python-elementtree-1.2.6-5.i386.rpm
Preparing... ########################################### [100%]
package python-elementtree-1.2.6-7.fc3.rf (which is newer than python-elementtree-1.2.6-5) is already installed


tryed adding --replacefiles --replacepkgs and didnt help

leigh123linux
13th May 2007, 03:55 PM
try

su -
rpm -e --nodeps python-elementtree-1.2.6-7.fc3.rf*
rpm -ivh python-elementtree-1.2.6-5.i386.rpm

Dies
13th May 2007, 04:00 PM
Well here's what I would do

su -
rpm -e --nodeps python-elementtree-1.2.6-7.fc3.rf

It shouldn't remove anything other than that one package but pay close attention if it removes anything so you know what to re-install.

Now hopefully rpm still works and you can just install the right one.

Remember that you can always right click an rpm and extract it, there will be a folder structure that you can follow to copy the files into place manually if you have to, that's all rpm does for you aside from keeping track of it. ;)

@leigh - I thought you were on dial-up... :confused: ... :D

leigh123linux
13th May 2007, 04:03 PM
Well here's what I would do

su -
rpm -e --nodeps python-elementtree-1.2.6-7.fc3.rf

It shouldn't remove anything other than that one package but pay close attention if it removes anything so you know what to re-install.

Now hopefully rpm still works and you can just install the right one.

Remember that you can always right click an rpm and extract it, there will be a folder structure that you can follow to copy the files into place manually if you have to, that's all rpm does for you aside from keeping track of it. ;)

@leigh - I thought you were on dial-up... :confused: ... :D


Hi Dies,

I got my Broadband back about 10 days ago :cool: :D ( I was lost without it :( )

Leigh

Dies
13th May 2007, 04:10 PM
Oh, good for you, I can only imagine the horror of dial-up. :eek:

Well that makes me feel better, because I should have been able to type a book before you even got those few lines if you were still on dial-up. :D

leeshellard
13th May 2007, 04:16 PM
Ok that worked kind of. If i open software updater now it opens but takes ages and fails. If i open yum extender it says yum is locked by another aplication.

Yum update in terminal does

Loading "installonlyn" plugin
Setting up Update Process
Setting up repositories
Could not retrieve mirrorlist http://mirrors.fedoraproject.org/mirrorlist?repo=core-6&arch=i386 error was
[Errno 14] HTTP Error 502: Date: Sun, 13 May 2007 15:11:36 GMT
Content-Length: 491
Connection: close
Content-Type: text/html; charset=iso-8859-1

Error: Cannot find a valid baseurl for repo: core

leigh123linux
13th May 2007, 04:33 PM
Ok that worked kind of. If i open software updater now it opens but takes ages and fails. If i open yum extender it says yum is locked by another aplication.

Yum update in terminal does

Loading "installonlyn" plugin
Setting up Update Process
Setting up repositories
Could not retrieve mirrorlist http://mirrors.fedoraproject.org/mirrorlist?repo=core-6&arch=i386 error was
[Errno 14] HTTP Error 502: Date: Sun, 13 May 2007 15:11:36 GMT
Content-Length: 491
Connection: close
Content-Type: text/html; charset=iso-8859-1

Error: Cannot find a valid baseurl for repo: core

This appears to be a problem with your fedora.core.repo , try moving the # from the base url to the mirror url in this file.

su
gedit /etc/yum.repos.d/fedora.core.repo



[core]
name=Fedora Core $releasever - $basearch
#baseurl=http://download.fedora.redhat.com/pub/fedora/linux/core/$releasever/$basearch/os/
mirrorlist=http://fedora.redhat.com/download/mirrors/fedora-core-$releasever
enabled=1
gpgcheck=1
gpgkey=file:///etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-fedora file:///etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY

to


[core]
name=Fedora Core $releasever - $basearch
baseurl=http://download.fedora.redhat.com/pub/fedora/linux/core/$releasever/$basearch/os/
#mirrorlist=http://fedora.redhat.com/download/mirrors/fedora-core-$releasever
enabled=1
gpgcheck=1
gpgkey=file:///etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-fedora file:///etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY

leeshellard
13th May 2007, 04:38 PM
Sorry im not all together with you!
Edit the repo file?

leigh123linux
13th May 2007, 04:42 PM
Sorry im not all together with you!
Edit the repo file?

I have edited my last post with howto do this

leigh123linux
13th May 2007, 04:49 PM
You may have to do the same for

fedora-extras.repo
fedora-updates.repo

I also got a 502 error when trying to browse this address


http://mirrors.fedoraproject.org/mirrorlist?repo=core-6&arch=i386

cee
13th May 2007, 04:59 PM
hi,

i've the same error. yesterday everything was fine. is it a fedora mirror problem ?

# yum install gcc
Loading "installonlyn" plugin
Setting up Install Process
Setting up repositories
Could not retrieve mirrorlist http://mirrors.fedoraproject.org/mirrorlist?repo=e xtras-6&arch=i386 error was
[Errno 14] HTTP Error 502: Date: Sun, 13 May 2007 15:21:29 GMT
Content-Length: 324
Connection: close
Content-Type: text/html; charset=iso-8859-1

Error: Cannot find a valid baseurl for repo: extras

leeshellard
13th May 2007, 05:01 PM
All working now!!

Thanks Everyone

And a big thanks to Leigh123@linux

leigh123linux
13th May 2007, 05:01 PM
hi,

i've the same error. yesterday everything was fine. is it a fedora mirror problem ?

It looks like its a problem with the mirror ( 502 = bad gateway )

leeshellard
13th May 2007, 05:06 PM
Yes i just noticed that on a few other threads. Not just me on that bit then.

Thanks for your quick replies and to the point help...

cee
13th May 2007, 05:13 PM
thx 4 the workaround leigh123@linux
running fine