PDA

View Full Version : Missing Dependency (list) ... "Fedora Friend" not my friend

riffin-rich
15th April 2007, 02:12 AM
Hello all. I'm a complete newbie here. Had too many problems with various codecs ... tried at least 20 variations of fixes I read about in these forums and decided to give Fedora Friend a whirl, as advised somewhere else in this forum. Now, I'm experiencing dependency hell. Is this hard to fix? I have read that mixing repositories is a problem ... it would appear that this is a problem for me, but, I can't even tell you what I have installed because i don't even know how to investigate and tell you. Do I just need to format and start over or is it easy to recover from this? Thanks so much... Regards, Rich

Missing Dependency: libswfdec-0.3.so.0 is needed by package gstreamer08-plugins-extra-video
Missing Dependency: libdts.so.0 is needed by package xine-lib-extras-nonfree
Missing Dependency: libdts.so.0 is needed by package mplayer-gui
Missing Dependency: libdts.so.0 is needed by package mplayer
Missing Dependency: faad2 = 2.0-19.20050131.lvn6 is needed by package xmms-faad2
Missing Dependency: libdts.so.0 is needed by package mencoder
Missing Dependency: libdts.so.0 is needed by package ffmpeg-libs
Missing Dependency: libdts.so.0 is needed by package vlc

Wayne
15th April 2007, 02:19 AM
Never heard of Fedora Friend. There is another utility called Fedora Frog. Link is in another thread about playing DVDs.

Wayne

riffin-rich
15th April 2007, 02:36 AM
Never heard of Fedora Friend. There is another utility called Fedora Frog. Link is in another thread about playing DVDs.

I see you changed your avatar, Wayne. I used Fedora Friend from http://www.fedorafriend.org/ and I'm quite sure I got the recommendation from this forum ... but nonetheless, I'm completely hosed-up with these dependency problems. Any idea how I can recover? Thanks much ... Rich

Wayne
15th April 2007, 02:43 AM