PDA

View Full Version : DVD Rip and Encode Times

Seve
13th April 2007, 02:53 AM
Hello:
I have very little experience in ripping and encoding DVD's, so I was wondering what the normal time would be for an average commercial movie ?
For example :
Ripping the DVD and encoding it in Mpeg-4

Seve

scotta3234
13th April 2007, 03:04 AM
For me it's around 23-28 minutes to encode using k9copy then about another 5 to burn using k3b. I used Devedee once but it took about an hour.

Seve
13th April 2007, 03:14 AM
Hello scotta3234:

Thanks for the information.
I really have no idea and I am testing out a package that rips and encodes DVD's with the thought of getting into the repos ....

I suppose a lot has to do with the default encoder, as I can't see the actual rip times being the bottle neck. On the other hand I may be completely off base :)

Does 1 pass versus 2 pass have a large impact on time ?

Seve

scotta3234
13th April 2007, 03:19 AM
Chances are that the program is simply using tools like DVDAuthor, Transcode, and mkisofs, so the speeds will be about the same in other programs. I could be wrong with this though. Do you have a link to the program you're testing? I'm always willing to test out new software.

-Edit- As with the 1 pass vs. two pass I can't say for certain that I'm an expert and know what's going on but I would think that a second pass would increase encoding time substantially. I believe this is what happened when I tried to create an ISO using Devedee.

Seve
13th April 2007, 03:26 AM
Hello:
I can attach a valid rpm build [at least here] if you would like to test it out ?
It installs fine with rpm ivh, creates the menu item etc.
and removes the application cleanly with
rpm -e
so in that regard it is safe :)

Let me know and I will attach it and you can give it a whirl and see what you think.
I would greatly appreciate the assistance.

Seve

scotta3234
13th April 2007, 03:28 AM
Yeah I'd be happy to give it a run, post a link when you can.

Seve