PDA

View Full Version : Fedora6 still no real competition

Modarm
7th April 2007, 03:35 AM
Hi everyone, I have setup Fedora6 and had a good look it is certainly the best looking yet. BUT it is simply never going to compete with Microsoft as main stream or functional for the masses as it is far to difficult to work with. A simple example is go buy some AV software from any vendor for Win XP and it is simple to install, a complete novice can install and the application just works (everything is consistent start menu's shortcuts etc) - try this with Fedora or any Linux. The simple truth is the brains behind Fedora are brilliant but have little or no commercial understanding. People want ther computers to be as simple as their video machine in the lounge.
If Fedora and RedHat can ever jsut work on simplifacation drop all the crappie bits which are fustrating and cumbersom to install and work on real functionality then you would be able to beat the brilliance of Microsoft - ease of use.
:)

bob
7th April 2007, 04:46 AM
It would appear you're trolling for a fight here. Frankly, most of us are sick of such baiting and not interested in a war of words. Suffice it to say that I've just set up my daughter's XP box with enough protections to keep her away from the nasties. That involved a couple of hours, so I'm a bit tired right now.

There are plenty of distros out there that have all the codecs built in and would handle anything you need. Fedora believes in FOSS and will never include those codecs. And, Fedora is not interested in "commercial", just in producing a first class system that satisfies it's users.

So, why not grab your money, your MS install discs, your AV software, Anti-spam software, commercial software and spend the remainder of the evening searching the internet for updates for everything you've installed. Have fun and don't let the screen door hit ya where the Good Lord split ya.

ppesci
7th April 2007, 06:44 AM