PDA

View Full Version : FC 6 crashes on HP compaq nc6120 due to temp probs



Lysbertus
6th April 2007, 10:38 AM
Hi,

i've just swished from windows to linux and it installed fedora core on my laptop (HP compaq nc6120). Got everything to work (even wireless internet ;-) ), but there is a problem with temperature. He crashed a few times with "critical temperature reached" notice so i installed a tool to monitor the sensors. There are 3 sensors en 2 seem te be fine, but the third (TZ1) goes up and down all the time. Now he is around 52░C but when i start copying something he goes up to 80/90 in just a second. Once he reaches 102 the kernel crashes. Can anyone help me with this? My laptop certainly isn't warmer than when I used windows. The last thing i want to do is re´nstall windows, so please help me out ;-)


[Peejay@localhost]$ uname -a
Linux localhost.localdomain 2.6.20-1.2933.fc6 #1 SMP Mon Mar 19 11:38:26 EDT 2007 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux

meijer.o
15th April 2007, 03:31 PM
I believe this is a known kernel problem. Perhaps 2.6.21 will fix this.

ekin
17th May 2007, 10:01 AM
What does
more /proc/cpuinfo
outputs?

leigh123linux
17th May 2007, 10:49 AM
Hi,

i've just swished from windows to linux and it installed fedora core on my laptop (HP compaq nc6120). Got everything to work (even wireless internet ;-) ), but there is a problem with temperature. He crashed a few times with "critical temperature reached" notice so i installed a tool to monitor the sensors. There are 3 sensors en 2 seem te be fine, but the third (TZ1) goes up and down all the time. Now he is around 52░C but when i start copying something he goes up to 80/90 in just a second. Once he reaches 102 the kernel crashes. Can anyone help me with this? My laptop certainly isn't warmer than when I used windows. The last thing i want to do is re´nstall windows, so please help me out ;-)


[Peejay@localhost]$ uname -a
Linux localhost.localdomain 2.6.20-1.2933.fc6 #1 SMP Mon Mar 19 11:38:26 EDT 2007 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux


Prehaps you should check with this command to see if you have a i586 kernel you need i686

rpm -qa --queryformat "%{NAME}-%{VERSION}-%{RELEASE}.%{ARCH}\n"|grep kernel|sort


P.S uname -a is useless in identifying this as it will show the wrong arch