PDA

View Full Version : Is it possible to Run a process in background?

su_jumptd
5th April 2007, 02:02 PM
Hello all,
I'm fairly new in this field; guess I could consider myself a rookie. Anyway, I just wanted to know if you can run a process in the background.

Example: I use rsync to backup approx 1.2 Tb of data and take a very long time. There are times that the work day as come to an end and the backup is still running. Can I log in to a server issues a command (like a backup job) and let it run in the background even I log off at the end of the day? Also is their a way I can monitor the current job running when I decide to log back in and check if all is going well?

Using Fedora Core 6

Thanks in advance.

moosetooth
5th April 2007, 02:15 PM
nohup rsync ..... &

nohup forces rsync to ignore the SIGHUP signal (sent when you logout) and the ampersand at the end sends the rsync process into the background. The ..... is your rsync options.

su_jumptd
5th April 2007, 02:19 PM
Thanks for the quick reply moosetooth,
I'll try that, I'll let you know if it works out for me.

Thanks again

After issuing the nohup rsync -vWa -e ssh --delete ......... &

I got: nohup: appending output to `nohup.out'

Is this normal? Please explain.

RupertPupkin
5th April 2007, 03:35 PM
Yep, that's normal. If nohup.out can't be written to the current directory, then it gets put in your home directory.