PDA

View Full Version : mplayer installed but not working?

akcrogan
11th March 2007, 11:37 AM
I have installed mplayer several times using the add/remove programs dialog, yumex, and from a terminal each time it installs perfectly without any errors. But once installed it simply will not start at all nothing happens? The firefox plugin doesnt work ethier. I have vlc and Xine installed and working but i want mplayer so i can use Devede and the firefox plugin.
Please help i'm pretty new to linux so if i'm missing something obvious please excuse my ignorance.

platomxv
11th March 2007, 11:56 AM
I have mplayer and mplayerplug-in working fairly well on my Thinkpad T30. There are some good threads here in this forum on mplayer. I suggest you do a search on - mplayer, multimedia, or mediaplayerconnectivity. You will find the search button in the toolbar at the top the first page. It takes a bit of work to make mplayer work but you are on the right track.
Norm

akcrogan
11th March 2007, 12:10 PM
thanks Norm
I've tried lots of searches (and i just tried again) but i can't seem to find a solution theres lots of people with conflicts with realplayer, etc but i can't get it to do anything at all. Getting frustrated

glennzo
11th March 2007, 12:11 PM
Download a small video. Save it to your home folder. Open a terminal and type mplayer /home/akcrogan/filename. If there are errors you will see the output in the terminal. Using that info can be very helpful in getting mplayer to work.

akcrogan
11th March 2007, 12:29 PM
Thanks glennzo just tried your suggestion i got this error
mplayer: symbol lookup error: /usr/lib/libavcodec.so.51: undefined symbol: faacDecOpen

glennzo
11th March 2007, 12:59 PM
Good. Now you know what the root of your mplayer problem is. I just googled 'mplayer: symbol lookup error: /usr/lib/libavcodec.so.51' and got a ton of hits. I did the same for the term 'undefined symbol: faacDecOpen'. If you do the same I'm confident that you can solve your problem.