PDA

View Full Version : Gcomm not always works



Jeff Sadowski
10th March 2007, 12:09 AM
sometimes when I start gcomm I get the following error

SerialOpen: tcgetattr:: Input/output error

when I do

lsof |grep "/dev/ttyS0"

I get

gcomm 3956 root 4u CHR 4,64 829 /dev/ttyS0

so it doesn't appear that any other programs are accessing my serial port

A note on what I noticed it is that when I hibernate and came back it worked but on a fresh startup it does not.

Jeff Sadowski
10th March 2007, 08:14 AM
ah ha

dmesg |grep ttyS0
serial8250: ttyS0 at I/O 0x3f8 (irq = 4) is a 16550A
00:02: ttyS0 at I/O 0x3f8 (irq = 4) is a 16550A
ttyS0: LSR safety check engaged!

A clue about why it fails I'll see what I can find about it

Jeff Sadowski
10th March 2007, 08:15 AM
btw even though it has been a while since gcomm was last updated it seems to work the best with many different kind of routers and switches just a note.