PDA

View Full Version : Help! Xserver is broke!



Linux_Weary
10th February 2007, 08:05 AM
Hi, thanks for your help, I've been running FC5 for a few months now with no problems till all of a sudden my computer wouldn't finish starting up. It kept freezing on a blank blue screen (yes completely locked up) unless I interupt the startup with a C-M-f3 or such to get me to a shell.

Once i got to a shell i logged in and typed: startx. It gives me the screen i'm in now... with a small little mozilla firefox window that can't be resized, no menu items or desktop, and a shell and a clock that says xclock. I've never seen this crap before.

I forget how, but at one point I killed X window and got to the big black shell screen where it gave an IO error for X windows. So from taht I am assuming the entire problem is a result of X windows.

I need help because I have no familiarity with the linux system (but I am a fast learner) and I need to debug this situation. Please tell me first steps I should take to discover the exact problem. Thank you very much. (Reformatting is not an option whatsoever.)

Regarding the problem. The last thing I changed was I went to Add Remove Software and I removed all the servers by unchecking the boxes. (apache, mysql, etc...) the system ran fine until I restarted it and got this message. Beyond that I haven't changed a thing.

Thanks for your time!

u-noneinc-s
10th February 2007, 08:13 AM
Were you using Gnome? If so, type rpm -q gnome-session in a terminal. If it returns gnome-session not installed, then do yum install gnome-session. Then restart X
If that doesn't work, try yum groupupdate "GNOME Desktop Environment" (including the quotes).

Linux_Weary
10th February 2007, 08:17 AM
it returned gnome-session not installed. I'm yum installing gnome-session as I type this.. I'll let you guys know what happens! Thanks so much bro!

u-noneinc-s
10th February 2007, 08:23 AM
I missed your last paragraph. Must be a problem with my monitor ;).
Anyway, always be careful what you remove and make sure you check to see what else is getting removed as dependencies. Some packages seem to want to take your whole system with them.

Linux_Weary
10th February 2007, 08:27 AM
Anyway, always be careful what you remove and make sure you check to see what else is getting removed as dependencies. Some packages seem to want to take your whole system with them.


No offense to you but that's ****ed up. There was no "Warning, removing webservers is gonna **** your system up hardcore," which I would have found very useful at the time.

It seems like has took my whole system with it lol... more on this later. yum is still installing very slowly...

u-noneinc-s
10th February 2007, 08:41 AM
yum should always give you that info (unless you use the -y switch), but that info is not in the form of a warning. It merely says removing for dependencies pkg1 pkg2 pkg3 etc...blah blah Is this OK? y/N Maybe pkgs being removed for deps should be listed in red so they stand out like a sore thumb :D

Linux_Weary
10th February 2007, 09:29 AM
Okay, the gnome-session enabled me to get into xwindows but i got some errors and the loading image thing needs to be clicked on in order to disappear... Plus a few crashes, so I need to do the gnome environment thing and i'm getting a missing dependency error...

Missing Dependency: mozilla = 37:1.7.13-1.1.fc5 is needed by package mozilla-devel

How do i get that mozilla = ... ?

Linux_Weary
10th February 2007, 09:43 AM
nevermind, i just reinstalled mozilla and updated firefox and it solved it.

u-noneinc-s
10th February 2007, 07:22 PM
So, everything is back up?
Just thought I'd give you an example of what can happen with a removal. yum remove httpd d(in my case anyway) doesn't remove anything that will break my system, but it is removing 15 other packages.
>sudo yum remove httpd-2.2.3-5
Setting up Remove Process
Resolving Dependencies
--> Populating transaction set with selected packages. Please wait.
---> Package httpd.i386 0:2.2.3-5 set to be erased
--> Running transaction check
Setting up repositories
Reading repository metadata in from local files
--> Processing Dependency: webserver for package: webalizer
--> Processing Dependency: httpd-mmn = 20051115 for package: mod_auth_pgsql
--> Processing Dependency: httpd-mmn = 20051115 for package: mod_security
--> Processing Dependency: httpd for package: system-config-httpd
--> Processing Dependency: httpd for package: squirrelmail
--> Processing Dependency: httpd = 0:2.2.3-5 for package: mod_ssl
--> Processing Dependency: httpd-mmn = 20051115 for package: mod_perl
--> Processing Dependency: httpd >= 2.0.40 for package: mod_auth_pgsql
--> Processing Dependency: httpd = 2.2.3-5 for package: httpd-manual
--> Processing Dependency: httpd-mmn = 20051115 for package: php
--> Processing Dependency: httpd for package: mod_security
--> Processing Dependency: httpd-mmn = 20051115 for package: mod_python
--> Processing Dependency: httpd-mmn = 20051115 for package: mod_ssl
--> Processing Dependency: httpd-mmn = 20051115 for package: mod_auth_mysql
--> Processing Dependency: httpd-mmn = 20051115 for package: mod_auth_kerb
--> Processing Dependency: httpd-mmn = 20051115 for package: mod_authz_ldap
--> Processing Dependency: httpd >= 2.0.40 for package: mod_python
--> Processing Dependency: httpd for package: cvsweb
--> Restarting Dependency Resolution with new changes.
--> Populating transaction set with selected packages. Please wait.
---> Package mod_python.i386 0:3.2.8-3.1 set to be erased
---> Package httpd-manual.i386 0:2.2.3-5 set to be erased
---> Package mod_perl.i386 0:2.0.2-6.1 set to be erased
---> Package mod_auth_mysql.i386 1:3.0.0-3.1 set to be erased
---> Package mod_security.i386 0:1.9.4-2.fc6 set to be erased
---> Package mod_ssl.i386 1:2.2.3-5 set to be erased
---> Package cvsweb.noarch 0:3.0.6-3.fc6 set to be erased
---> Package php.i386 0:5.1.6-3.3.fc6 set to be erased
---> Package system-config-httpd.noarch 5:1.4.1-1.fc6 set to be erased
---> Package mod_authz_ldap.i386 0:0.26-7.1 set to be erased
---> Package squirrelmail.noarch 0:1.4.8-4.fc6 set to be erased
---> Package webalizer.i386 0:2.01_10-30.1 set to be erased
---> Package mod_auth_kerb.i386 0:5.3-2.fc6 set to be erased
---> Package mod_auth_pgsql.i386 0:2.0.3-2.3.1 set to be erased
--> Running transaction check
--> Processing Dependency: php >= 5.1.0-1 for package: php-pear
--> Restarting Dependency Resolution with new changes.
--> Populating transaction set with selected packages. Please wait.
---> Package php-pear.noarch 1:1.4.9-4 set to be erased
--> Running transaction check

Dependencies Resolved

================================================== ===========================
Package Arch Version Repository Size
================================================== ===========================
Removing:
httpd i386 2.2.3-5 installed 2.8 M
Removing for dependencies:
cvsweb noarch 3.0.6-3.fc6 installed 216 k
httpd-manual i386 2.2.3-5 installed 3.4 M
mod_auth_kerb i386 5.3-2.fc6 installed 30 k
mod_auth_mysql i386 1:3.0.0-3.1 installed 43 k
mod_auth_pgsql i386 2.0.3-2.3.1 installed 53 k
mod_authz_ldap i386 0.26-7.1 installed 187 k
mod_perl i386 2.0.2-6.1 installed 6.5 M
mod_python i386 3.2.8-3.1 installed 1.1 M
mod_security i386 1.9.4-2.fc6 installed 1.1 M
mod_ssl i386 1:2.2.3-5 installed 173 k
php i386 5.1.6-3.3.fc6 installed 3.1 M
php-pear noarch 1:1.4.9-4 installed 1.8 M
squirrelmail noarch 1.4.8-4.fc6 installed 14 M
system-config-httpd noarch 5:1.4.1-1.fc6 installed 2.3 M
webalizer i386 2.01_10-30.1 installed 251 k

Transaction Summary
================================================== ===========================
Install 0 Package(s)
Update 0 Package(s)
Remove 16 Package(s)

Is this ok [y/N]: N
Exiting on user Command
Complete! I'm not going to test all the removal of all servers to see which one(s) messed you up. I think this one (though harmless in this case) gives you a good idea.
You are not the first to "lose" Gnome after update or removal, so don't feel bad. Some seem to have lost it for no appearent reason.

Seve
10th February 2007, 07:28 PM
I'm not going to test all the removal of all servers to see which one(s) messed you up.
Hello:
Mark ..... you chicken :)

Seve

u-noneinc-s
10th February 2007, 07:49 PM
Buck buck b-guck
You are absolutely correct Seve. I am afraid I'll brain fade and hit y instead of N. :p

Seve
10th February 2007, 07:53 PM
Hello Mark:
Just kidding ...... :)

Seve

Linux_Weary
10th February 2007, 08:22 PM
My computer is still busted up and unusable at this point... I did a groupinstall of gnome and now I've got a situation where I cannot right-click my desktop, see no icons on desktop, computer freezes when it starts up, but I have my menu when i manually startx from a shell, just no desktop or log in screen...

any ideas what i'm missing? another thing package manager ripped out of my system was my nvidia drivers... I had to reinstall those... like wow...

Linux_Weary
10th February 2007, 08:29 PM
When I go to the little foot icon and click "logout username" it will kill X and bring me to runlevel 3 or whatever you call it and display errors... however I cannot read all these errors as I do not know how to scroll up in the shell... Where can I read those errors... (they are not showing up in /var/log/messages)

u-noneinc-s
10th February 2007, 09:31 PM
I don't know if the "Xorg.log" (/var/log/Xorg.0.log) covers this or not, but you should have a gdm log (/var/log/gdm.log?) that may help (if it's "x" errors that are being displayed upon logout). I'm guessing on the gdm log as I use KDE and have a kdm log. Also /var/log/messages.
I won't mention any names, but I see at least one smart guy monitoring. Maybe he has something to offer. N?

BTW, I think you can space for a page at a time or enter for a line at a time. (It may depend on the shell).

Linux_Weary
10th February 2007, 11:31 PM
Alright I'll look into gdm.log... Nothing is showing up in Xorg.0.log unfortunately. And enter and space only works if you pipe output to more? No? I dunno how to pipe the output :( but ya it would be nice if I could simply scroll up in the shell....

Dies
11th February 2007, 12:14 AM
it would be nice if I could simply scroll up in the shell....

Have you tried shift+page up/down?