PDA

View Full Version : X-cd-roast Not Working!

fc6_user
7th February 2007, 11:09 PM
When I launch X-CD-ROAST, I get the following:

-"No configuration file found. Please enter setup."
-(I then click on Setup and the Setup window opens.)
-I then have two options: Rescan devices / Manually add devices

I'm new to Linux and not sure what all this means. All I want to do is back up my data on CDs and DVDs. I don't really care whether I use X-CD-ROAST or another program for this.

Does anybody know what needs to be done to get my burner working?

Thanks.

jim
7th February 2007, 11:29 PM
yum install gnomebaker if you use gnome

yum install k3b if you use kde

X cd Roast is old

fc6_user
8th February 2007, 07:43 PM
Installed gnomebaker, couldn't find it in the menus, typed in 'gnomebaker' in the terminal, it opened...

I tried to burn a CD and got the following message:
NFO: UTF-8 character encoding detected by locale settings.
Assuming UTF-8 encoded filenames on source filesystem,
use -input-charset to override.
mkisofs: Directories too deep for 'linux/.openoffice.org2.0/user/config/soffice.cfg/modules/simpress/accelerator' (7) max is 6.

And, in the terminal:
** (gnomebaker:3618): WARNING **: gbcommon_close_temp_file - Temporary file descriptor [/tmp/GnomeBaker-linux/gnomebaker-61SGNT] could not be closed

A few basic questions:
-I get the impression that KDE and GNOME software are compatible. I use KDevelop in GNOME, Kopete in Gnome, etc. Is this really true?
-Why can't I find gnomebaker in the applications menu?

I'm going to install k3b now. I'll let you know what happens.

Thanks Jim!

fc6_user
8th February 2007, 07:46 PM
Well, this is what happened when I tried installing k3b. Could you tell me how to go about interpreting what is written here?

[root@localhost ~]# yum install k3b
Loading "installonlyn" plugin
Setting up Install Process
Setting up repositories
Reading repository metadata in from local files
Parsing package install arguments
Nothing to do