PDA

View Full Version : Anyone get Java to Work?

imdaryl
7th February 2007, 09:44 PM
I like to play yahoo games (euchre). But when I try to go to the games it says I need Java Runtime Environment. I must have tried 7 or more different instructions, still no go. I'm almost thinking I should uninstall Java and start from scratch. Can anyone give me any pointers, or has anyone had success with java and the plugins? One more thing, when I go to /opt I have 2 directories/folder in it (jre1.5.0_11 & jre1.6.0) could this be my problem? And if yes, how do I get rid of one or the other?
I'm running FC6 and Firefox 2.0.
By the way, i'm still a noob, please be gentle. Thanks

quik69
7th February 2007, 09:52 PM
http://stanton-finley.net/fedora_core_5_installation_notes.html#Java

Read and follow those instructions exactly and you should be good to go

you'll probably want flash as well, just yum install flash-plugin

edit:

sorry.. about your question, no the multiple dir's shouldnt be a problem(except wasted space) if you want to use the newest jre then just follow the directions from stanton-finley but subsitute in the latest jre.x.x.x for the one in the commands on sf's wesite

imdaryl
7th February 2007, 09:54 PM
I edited my post while you replied. Do you think I should uninstall java before I try again?

nick.stumpos
7th February 2007, 10:47 PM
if you have the java in /opt already then you shouldnt have to reinstall, please post the output of
ls -l /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins
ls -l /opt
java -v
/usr/sbin/alternatives --display java
and
echo $PATH

imdaryl
7th February 2007, 11:32 PM