PDA

View Full Version : Xlib: extension "SHAPE" missing on display ":0.0".



tmick
7th February 2007, 05:54 AM
Hi
I had the problems in this post http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?p=735204#post735204
and still had to run the command
metacity --replace& to get my borders back if I restarted my computer.
I just upgraded these packages today:
cups-libs.i386 1:1.2.7-1.8.fc6
bzip2-libs.i386 1.0.3-5.fc6
gpm.i386 1.20.1-80.fc6
postgresql-libs.i386 8.1.7-1.fc6
procps.i386 3.2.7-8.2.fc6
openalpp.i386 20060714-3.fc6
bzip2.i386 1.0.3-5.fc6
cups.i386 1:1.2.7-1.8.fc6
audit-libs-python.i386 1.4-1.fc6
policycoreutils.i386 1.34.1-4.fc6
policycoreutils-newrole.i386 1.34.1-4.fc6
selinux-policy.noarch 2.4.6-35.fc6
osgal.i386 20060903-3.fc6
vim-common.i386 2:7.0.191-2.fc6
vim-enhanced.i386 2:7.0.191-2.fc6
selinux-policy-targeted.noarch 2.4.6-35.fc6
selinux-policy-mls.noarch 2.4.6-35.fc6
cups-lpd.i386 1:1.2.7-1.8.fc6
bzip2-devel.i386 1.0.3-5.fc6
autofs.i386 1:5.0.1-0.rc3.14
gpm-devel.i386 1.20.1-80.fc6
cups-devel.i386 1:1.2.7-1.8.fc6
audit.i386 1.4-1.fc6
bind-chroot.i386 31:9.3.4-2.fc6
xterm.i386 223-2.fc6
psacct.i386 6.3.2-42.fc6
logrotate.i386 3.7.4-10.fc6
cups-debuginfo.i386 1:1.2.7-1.8.fc6
caching-nameserver.i386 31:9.3.4-2.fc6
vim-minimal.i386 2:7.0.191-2.fc6
sysstat.i386 7.0.0-4.fc6
bind-libs.i386 31:9.3.4-2.fc6
bind.i386 31:9.3.4-2.fc6
bind-libbind-devel.i386 31:9.3.4-2.fc6
bind-utils.i386 31:9.3.4-2.fc6
bind-devel.i386 31:9.3.4-2.fc6
bind-sdb.i386 31:9.3.4-2.fc6
F gconf-editor-debuginfo.i386 2.16.0-2.fc6
gconf-editor.i386 2.16.0-2.fc6
and now when I run
metacity --replace&
I get
Xlib: extension "SHAPE" missing on display ":0.0".
I have not changed anything other than the updates.
I need to know two things,
1. How to fix metacity to where i don't have to run metacity --replace& each restart
2. How to find and fix this latest error.

tmick
7th February 2007, 06:03 AM
attached xorg.conf to this post

RupertPupkin
7th February 2007, 06:16 AM
That doesn't look like your xorg.conf. It looks like your Xorg.0.log. :)

To get the SHAPE extension, you need to load the extmod module in your xorg.conf:


Section "Module"
Load "extmod"
# load some other stuff ...
EndSection

tmick
7th February 2007, 06:35 AM
OK so I copied the wrong file :rolleyes:
here is the correct one
# Xorg configuration created by system-config-display

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "single head configuration"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"
ModulePath "/usr/lib/xorg/modules"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "glx"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# generated from default
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "auto"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "kbd"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "us"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"

### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "Unknown"
### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
HorizSync 30.0 - 110.0
VertRefresh 50.0 - 150.0
Option "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "nv"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 24
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
EndSection


You're saying it should look like
Section "Module"
Load "glx"
Load "extmod"
EndSection right?
Also I noticed the "Display Settings" has lost my Monitor I have an Envision monitor that was recognized prior to the last round of updates what happened there?

tmick
7th February 2007, 07:07 AM
Changed the xorg.conf file so it has the extmod loading and the error went away but I still have to run
metacity --replace& to get my borders back on restart.
Any ideas on how to fix that??