PDA

View Full Version : resolution prob



RED WIND
6th February 2007, 09:49 PM
my computer froze so I had to restart and when I did the resolution was in 800 X 600 and I went to change it back and my resolution wasen't there anymore

anyone have an idea what went wrong???

bob
6th February 2007, 11:42 PM
Not really. I guess you've tried resetting it with 'system-config-display'? Did you also go in and double-check to see what's different in /etc/X11/xorg.conf? Do you have the higher resolutions shown? Is there a ~xorg.conf that might contain a backup of the previous one?

hiberphoptik
6th February 2007, 11:46 PM
hehehe sounds like whatever you did you did as root, or entered the root password for something somewhere, otherwise your xorg.conf could not have changed :)

bob is right, check your /etc/X11/xorg.conf file to make sure the proper modes are listed, if you have done an update recently and got a new kernel and you are using the nvidia drivers you will need to reinstall them for the new kernel also