PDA

View Full Version : how to write in chinese characters??

lanchongzi
6th February 2007, 01:42 PM
hi to all of you
first of all I am new to the whole linux world and i am not THAT technical
but i like the whole Linux idea so i decided to use it instead of windows

but since i study in China I NEED to be able to write in chinese.
I am looking for it already 3 days now all I can find is a dictionary, a translator some fonts and a REALLY complicated instruction from a student webpage.

I need to be able to switch between chinese and english in the same text
and i dont know how to get the plugins or updates

i will be more than thankfull for every tip you guys could give me

I use fc5 but what hardware is in there i dont really know ( and i dont know how to find that out ) :rolleyes:

OK i found out that i can write using chinese character, if i lock out and change the language used in the session.
But thats not very convenient
so it IS possible to write, BUT how can i have my english session AND write chinese if I want to
( I also use QQ which is a chinese ICQ kinda thing and for that one i need to write chinese )

Thecowking
6th February 2007, 03:12 PM
Hmm I'll keep an eye on this, I need chinese character input too. I tried throwing a few of the input programs listed on Yumex on my machine but damned if I can find out how to activate them.

lanchongzi
6th February 2007, 03:19 PM
i found this http://forum.fedoraforum.org/forum/showthread.php?t=140807&highlight=chinese+characters

but i dont get it ( sorry i am really dumb with computers)

Thecowking
6th February 2007, 03:43 PM
i found this http://forum.fedoraforum.org/forum/showthread.php?t=140807&highlight=chinese+characters

but i dont get it ( sorry i am really dumb with computers)

Hmm interesting, I'm at work at the moment but I'll have a look at that again when I get home. If I get it working I'll tell you here :)

Thecowking
6th February 2007, 07:33 PM
很好!I got it! :)

in terminal;
su
Password: