PDA

View Full Version : gnome-terminal



trispad
6th February 2007, 03:23 AM
I am running dual wide screens. I have rotated one of them so I can view a full web page. The xorg.conf file I am using is at the bottom. However, now I cannot open gnome-terminal. When I try and run gnome-terminal I get the fallowing message:


The program 'gnome-terminal' received an X Window System error.
This probably reflects a bug in the program.
The error was 'BadValue (integer parameter out of range for operation)'.
(Details: serial 100 error_code 2 request_code 78 minor_code 0)
(Note to programmers: normally, X errors are reported asynchronously;
that is, you will receive the error a while after causing it.
To debug your program, run it with the --sync command line
option to change this behavior. You can then get a meaningful
backtrace from your debugger if you break on the gdk_x_error() function.)


I can open other things, such as firefox, emacs, etc..

Any ideas??

here is my xorg.conf file


Section "Files"
FontPath "unix/:7100"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "dbe"
Load "extmod"
Load "type1"
Load "freetype"
Load "glx"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
Option "Xinerama" "true"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
# generated from default
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "auto"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
# generated from data in "/etc/sysconfig/keyboard"
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "kbd"
Option "XkbLayout" "us"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
# HorizSync source: edid, VertRefresh source: edid
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "BenQ FP202W"
HorizSync 30.0 - 84.0
VertRefresh 56.0 - 76.0
Option "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
# HorizSync source: edid, VertRefresh source: edid
Identifier "Monitor1"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "BenQ FP202W"
HorizSync 30.0 - 84.0
VertRefresh 56.0 - 76.0
Option "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce 6800 XT"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
Option "Rotate" "CW"
Screen 0
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard1"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce 6800 XT"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
Screen 1
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1680x1050" "1600x1200" "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen1"
Device "Videocard1"
Monitor "Monitor1"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1680x1050" "1600x1200" "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Dual-Monitor"
Screen 0 "Screen0" LeftOf "Screen1"
Screen 1 "Screen1" 0 1
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
EndSection

leigh123linux
6th February 2007, 03:30 AM
why do these devices have the same bus id?


Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce 6800 XT"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
Option "Rotate" "CW"
Screen 0
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard1"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce 6800 XT"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
Screen 1
EndSection

mwette
6th February 2007, 03:39 AM
why do these devices have the same bus id?

They could be handled by the same PCI function, but that particular PCI
function can handle two screens. But it is probably worth checking.
Type lspci. For my ATI X1300, the two chips are different functions on
the same board:


# lspci
...
03:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Unknown device 7187
03:00.1 Display controller: ATI Technologies Inc Unknown device 71a7
...

trispad
6th February 2007, 03:47 AM
leigh123:
They have the same bus id because it is one video card (Nvidia GeForece 6800 XT) that has dual dvi ports.

mwette:
When I run lspci the only relevant output I get is


...
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV42 [Geforce 6800 XT] (rev a2)
...


-trispad

leigh123linux
6th February 2007, 03:56 AM
I only ask because your xorg.conf looks good, some cards use different bus id's for each port

mwette
6th February 2007, 03:59 AM
leigh123:
They have the same bus id because it is one video card (Nvidia GeForece 6800 XT) that has dual dvi ports.

mwette:
When I run lspci the only relevant output I get is


...
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV42 [Geforce 6800 XT] (rev a2)
...


-trispad

Right. I have one card with two DVI connectors, but it lists two PCI functions.
My point was that it is feasible for your card to only list one PCI function but
allow that PCI function to run two displays.

trispad
6th February 2007, 05:11 AM
Sorry, I am still a little new to Linux and do not understand where your train of thoughts are going, do you guys know why other apps are able to display and not the gnome-terminal? I guess I can stick with xterm, but I prefer gnome-terminal.

Thank you
trispad

mwette
6th February 2007, 06:00 AM
Sorry, I am still a little new to Linux and do not understand where your train of thoughts are going, do you guys know why other apps are able to display and not the gnome-terminal? I guess I can stick with xterm, but I prefer gnome-terminal.

Thank you
trispad

We are off topic. I think the PCI thing is irrelevant.

My guess is that your problem is a bug in gnome. .... OK I'm finding something.
I am reading. If you are on try commenting-out the Xinerama option in xorg.conf
and restart X. I'll edit this post in a bit when I find the right reference.

[EDIT: here are references: gnome-bug (http://bugzilla.gnome.org/show_bug.cgi?id=354767) and ubuntu-bug (https://launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/linux-restricted-modules-2.6.17/+bug/58232)

MORE: according to nvidia:


"This is a known X server bug which is triggered when using Composite with Xinerama. You should report it to Ubuntu. The current workaround is to disable Composite or Xinerama."

]

mwette
6th February 2007, 06:19 AM
Also, have you looked at the nVidia documentation. I have old doc's that
indicate the card has a "TwinView" option which seems to do the same as
Xinerama and another option to turn off Xinerama messages in TwinView
mode.

trispad
7th February 2007, 06:26 AM
When I turn Xinerama off, gnome-termial works, and when Xinerama is enabled gnome-terminal does not work. mwette, you are correct that it is a bug. I will stick with Xinerama because I like to be able to drag windows from one screen to another. I will just use xterm until the issue is resolved. Thanks for your help!

-trispad

mwette
7th February 2007, 02:53 PM
When I turn Xinerama off, gnome-termial works, and when Xinerama is enabled gnome-terminal does not work. mwette, you are correct that it is a bug. I will stick with Xinerama because I like to be able to drag windows from one screen to another. I will just use xterm until the issue is resolved. Thanks for your help!

-trispad

Did you read the bug report? There was an environment variable that provided another workaround.

trispad
7th February 2007, 03:16 PM
I added that fallowing and now gnome-terminal works!! Thank you



Section "Extensions"
Option "Composite" "false"
EndSection