PDA

View Full Version : unable to find Windows 2K after Fedora install

asanch01
21st April 2004, 06:59 PM
Hi, All

It is my first time installing linux, and I am having some issues. I installed it on my desktop that had Win 2K and all of my important stuff. I neglected to backup my files and now find myself unable to find windows.

I (thought) I installed linux on my 2nd hard drive of 13 GB.(D:), windows was on my primary drive, (C:). now I can not find windows and am afraid I may have erased it from my system.

Can anyone help???

I am as new as users come; no experience with linux what so ever. I need to know how I can find Windows, or if it even exsists on my pc anymore

Mark_Den
21st April 2004, 07:36 PM
go to a terminal and do a fdisk -l and look at the results.

I fear you may have formated the entire disk during the install process, something you have to watch as there is an option to only use the free space there.

If there's something that reflects an NTFS or FAT partition, then it's still there and it's a matter of configuring your bootloader

asanch01
21st April 2004, 07:40 PM
Ok... this is helpful... I think I have a chance of getting some results with the help you guys can offer. :)

however, now I have to ask...
how do I configure the bootloader?

Thanks!!

asanch01
21st April 2004, 07:55 PM
Sorry,
fdisk -l does not work
it says "command not found"

Any other ideas??

kbradl1
21st April 2004, 08:38 PM
I am sure fdisk is on your machine. type "locate fdisk" at the console and see if locate finds it. (you may have to run updatedb once before you can run locate)

I think it is in /sbin/ or /usr/sbin which won't be in your path unless you login as root. So you can either add these folders to your PATH by running
"PATH=$PATH:/sbin"
"export PATH"

or you can run it using /sbin/fdisk. If it isn't on your machine download it.

Mark_Den
21st April 2004, 08:54 PM
Sorry about that...yes, you'll want to run that as /sbin/fdisk -l

asanch01