PDA

View Full Version : --aid switch doesnt work with rpm command



getnag
15th January 2007, 04:00 PM
Hello,

Have anyone tried using the rpm -ivh --aid switch to install dependencies automatically when u are trying to install an RPM from a local RPM dump?

I know I can use YUM to install RPMs and their dependencies , but I want to do some installations from the local RPM dump that I have.

I tried this on FC4 and FC6 and it doesnt work on neither of them. However it works on RHEL installations.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanx
Naag.

farmorg
15th January 2007, 04:32 PM
do you have a .rpmmacros file configured in /root ?

you need this to tell rpm where to find rpms for dependencies etc.

farmorg

getnag
15th January 2007, 05:01 PM
Hello,

Thanx for the response. I donot have the .rpmmacros file under the /root. Could you please give me a sample/example of what should be the the contents of the file?

Thanx
Naag.

Jman
16th January 2007, 05:47 AM
I know I can use YUM to install RPMs and their dependencies , but I want to do some installations from the local RPM dump that I have.

Simply install createrepo and run createrepo in the directory containing the rpms. Then use yum with a file:// URL pointing to that directory.