PDA

View Full Version : Need to install OpenOffice 2.1 off Development...

Jim March
15th January 2007, 03:48 AM
Hi all,

I'm new to FC, just installed FC6 on a reformatted disk. I've been using Linux solid for about five months, originally Ubuntu Dapper, then "Edgy" was just too edgy, a bit of time with OpenSuse 10.2 but while it was stable at least, the package management was ghastly.

I had OpenOffice 2.1 with OpenSuse and still need it for certain documents coming from people still stuck in Windoze.

I've been searching this forum and have seen people make throwaway comments to "get it off Dev" but don't know how to do that. At least one thing I tried came from a post on updating alsa, to wit:

yum --enablerepo=development update alsa*

Knowing I had OpenOffice 2.0.4 series installed already, I turned that alsa update into:

yum --enablerepo=development update openoffice*

...and the damnthing tried to update a whole slew of stuff...I'll spare you the long, LONG resulting output and cut to the chase:

Error: Missing Dependency: libcurl.so.3 is needed by package audacious-plugins
Error: Missing Dependency: libcurl.so.3 is needed by package streamtuner
Error: Missing Dependency: python(abi) = 2.4 is needed by package Django
Error: Missing Dependency: python(abi) = 2.4 is needed by package yumex
Error: Missing Dependency: libedataserver-1.2.so.7 is needed by package deskbar-applet
Error: Missing Dependency: python(abi) = 2.4 is needed by package deskbar-applet
Error: Missing Dependency: python(abi) = 2.4 is needed by package pessulus
Error: Missing Dependency: python(abi) = 2.4 is needed by package gstreamer-python
Error: Missing Dependency: libpython2.4.so.1.0 is needed by package blender
Error: totem-xine conflicts with totem
Error: totem-xine-mozplugin conflicts with totem

Now I'm thinking all this crap is NOT OpenOffice dependencies? Rather, the SOB is trying to update a slew of other junk off of development?

Well I don't want THAT!