PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Question: Browsing a DVD-ROM

jbarnett74
14th January 2007, 05:26 AM
I am new to Fedora. I have successfully installed Fedora 6 (64 Bit version). Now I'm trying to browse the DVD that I installed from, but I am unable to do so. I'm using an old DVD-Rom drive, which I installed the Fedora from, and I can see a "CD-ROM/DVD-ROM Drive" icon in Nautilus (via Computer). However, when I try to open the item I get a "Unable to mount media" error.

I would guess that the DVD and DVD-Rom drive are fine (since I used them both for installation). Therefore, it seems I don't know what I'm doing. Could someone give me a clue as to how I might correctly mount and browse this fs? I'd appreciate it.

By the way, I've read other forum posts that might suggest Fedora 6 has issues with automounting a DVD-Rom fs. Are those posts applicable or not, considering Nautilus lists the device?

joe.pelayo
14th January 2007, 05:43 AM
MMM, that is the first time I read a problem like that. Honestly aside from using the mount command I don't know what to do. However I will share with something I have learned after three (six) FC6 installations. The first time I install FC6 in a given machine I always get problems, but if I reinstall FC6 problems disappear (can not explain) so, if yours is a 'brand new' nstallation you can try that if anything else works.

sideways
14th January 2007, 05:47 AM
what happens if you try to mount as root from a terminal?

create a mount point 'mkdir /mnt/dvd', then mount with 'mount /dev/dvd /mnt/dvd'

jbarnett74
14th January 2007, 09:38 PM
what happens if you try to mount as root from a terminal?

create a mount point 'mkdir /mnt/dvd', then mount with 'mount /dev/dvd /mnt/dvd'

Ok, so I've managed it that way (logged in as root). However, Nautilus still doesn't recognize that it's mounted though. Is it necessary, or possible, to point the Nautilus "CD-ROM/DVD-ROM Drive" item to the new directory ("/mnt/dvd")?

sideways