PDA

View Full Version : Install software

JoeFrezza
13th January 2007, 02:32 PM
Hello people!
I'm new to this forum, so Hi! to everyone!
I'm actually quite new to Linux as well, although I already read my share of how-to's etc.

4 months and 4 distributions later my proficiency in the new 'environment' has improved a lot, but there's one thing I still haven't managed to achieve: installing software available on cd/dvd support.

I have no problems using yum/apt or deb/rpm, but when it comes to software I have available on a different support I'm at a loss.

Every month I purchase a Linux Magazine that includes a dvd full of goodies, but as of today I couldn't successfully install any of them.

Latest example: I have a dvd with 'freevo 1.6.0', an open source multimedia center application. It comes as a tar.gz file. The instructions on the magazine, like for all the other software it ships with, are to extract the tarball, move to the newly created directory and execute the following commands:

./configure
make
su (enter root's pw)
make install

This all makes sense to me, but for one reason or another it never works. Sometimes, like in this case, right from the word go, as this is what happens:

[joe@localhost freevo-1.6.0]$ ./configure
bash: ./configure: No such file or directory
[joe@localhost freevo-1.6.0]$

On other occasions it states there's no make file available, and I suppose that's an issue with dependancies, but I'm not sure.

Could anyone please explain to me how all this works?

Also, can yum be used to install this kind of packages or is it only for downloaded packages? What if you have the package already (perhaps you downloaded it on another pc with a faster internet connection...). Would it be able to resolve the dependencies downloading from the repos only what's not available locally?

Thanks for any help! :)

zeroelixis
13th January 2007, 03:15 PM