PDA

View Full Version : easy question xgl / compiz



leigh123linux
13th January 2007, 03:48 AM
Hi ,

Is there a keyboard shortcut for this effect?

Thanks Leigh

JN4OldSchool
13th January 2007, 03:58 AM
cant really tell what you got going on. Both windows appear to be transparent. Do you mean making the active window transparent on command? Alt + scroll wheel

leigh123linux
13th January 2007, 04:01 AM
cant really tell what you got going on. Both windows appear to be transparent. Do you mean making the active window transparent on command? Alt + scroll wheel

No but thats good one to know, The one I want is the one that lays all out the windows on the desktop.

thank leigh

Seve
13th January 2007, 04:05 AM
Hello:
I am sure JN4 will know what you want.
I hit the right keys to create the effect some times, by pure accident ....... unfortunately i cannot create it at the moment. :)

Seve

leigh123linux
13th January 2007, 04:08 AM
Hello:
I am sure JN4 will know what you want.
I hit the right keys to create the effect some times, by pure accident ....... unfortunately i cannot create it at the moment. :)

Seve

It's the first time that I have ever got XGL working. It's FC5

Seve
13th January 2007, 04:14 AM
Hello Leigh:
Are you using beryl or compiz ?
If you are using compiz I believe you can have a look at the settings in
gconf-editor ... under apps

also Jim posted a quick how-to thingy here : http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=124238&highlight=Jim

I don't have compiz installed ... sorry

Seve

JN4OldSchool
13th January 2007, 04:15 AM
sorry about the wait, I am watching dogfights and headed for bed soon. Commercial. If you mean the expose like thing then just touch the cursor to the top right corner of the screen. Not sure the hot keys though. If you open beryl settings manager you can usually find the hot keys if you can figure out what they name the feature.

leigh123linux
13th January 2007, 04:50 AM
Hello Leigh:
Are you using beryl or compiz ?
If you are using compiz I believe you can have a look at the settings in
gconf-editor ... under apps

also Jim posted a quick how-to thingy here : http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=124238&highlight=Jim

I don't have compiz installed ... sorry

Seve

Thanks Seve,

Jim's link had everything I needed .

The mode is called "scale" and the shortcut was "pause"

Leigh

JN4OldSchool
13th January 2007, 05:03 AM
hey! What am I? Chopped liver? Touch the cursor to the top right corner of the screen!

Seve
13th January 2007, 05:34 AM
hey! What am I? Chopped liver? Touch the cursor to the top right corner of the screen!
Hello:
See I knew that you would know the answer... :)


I am sure JN4 will know what you want.

Seve

leigh123linux
13th January 2007, 09:08 AM
hey! What am I? Chopped liver? Touch the cursor to the top right corner of the screen!

Hi,

I have just this way .

Thanks JN

JN4OldSchool
13th January 2007, 03:28 PM
sheesh Leigh, good morning! You are in the UK, dont you ever sleep?

leigh123linux
13th January 2007, 03:33 PM
sheesh Leigh, good morning! You are in the UK, dont you ever sleep?

Hi JN,

Not much :(

I only sleep for about 4 hours a day , I can't seem to do anymore than that :cool: