PDA

View Full Version : problem installing xclass



Dan Ziolkowski
12th January 2007, 03:02 PM
I am trying to install RX320-0.6.1, which requires xclass-0.8.3 or better. When I ./configure xclass-0.9.2, I have errors as shown below (errors isolated by empty lines):


checking for ar... ar
checking for ranlib... ranlib
checking for bison... bison -y
checking whether make sets $(MAKE)... yes
checking for a BSD-compatible install... /usr/bin/install -c
checking for g++... g++
checking for C++ compiler default output file name... a.out
checking whether the C++ compiler works... yes

checking whether we are cross compiling...no

checking for suffix of executables...
checking for suffix of object files... o
checking whether we are using the GNU C++ compiler... yes
checking whether g++ accepts -g... yes
checking how to run the C++ preprocessor... g++ -E
checking for egrep... grep -E

checking for AIX... no

checking for ANSI C header files... yes
checking for sys/types.h... yes
checking for sys/stat.h... yes
checking for stdlib.h... yes
checking for string.h... yes
checking for memory.h... yes
checking for strings.h... yes
checking for inttypes.h... yes
checking for stdint.h... yes
checking for unistd.h... yes
checking for memory.h... (cached) yes
checking for unistd.h... (cached) yes
checking for string.h... (cached) yes
checking fcntl.h usability... yes
checking fcntl.h presence... yes
checking for fcntl.h... yes
checking sys/time.h usability... yes
checking sys/time.h presence... yes
checking for sys/time.h... yes

checking sys/systeminfo.h usability... no
checking sys/systeminfo.h presence... no
checking for sys/systeminfo.h... no

checking for sys/stat.h... (cached) yes
checking sys/select.h usability... yes
checking sys/select.h presence... yes
checking for sys/select.h... yes
checking pwd.h usability... yes
checking pwd.h presence... yes
checking for pwd.h... yes
checking for sys/types.h... (cached) yes
checking sys/wait.h usability... yes
checking sys/wait.h presence... yes
checking for sys/wait.h... yes
checking for dirent.h that defines DIR... yes
checking for library containing opendir... none required
checking whether time.h and sys/time.h may both be included... yes

checking GL/glx.h usability... no
checking GL/glx.h presence... no
checking for GL/glx.h... no
checking GL/gl.h usability... no
checking GL/gl.h presence... no
checking for GL/gl.h... no
checking GL/glu.h usability... no
checking GL/glu.h presence... no
checking for GL/glu.h... no

checking return type of signal handlers... void

checking for gethostname... yes
checking for putenv... yes
checking for select... yes
checking for strstr... yes
checking for strcasecmp... yes
checking for strncasecmp... yes
checking for sysconf... yes
checking for strerror... yes
checking for waitpid... yes
checking for getitimer... yes
checking for setitimer... yes
checking for working strcoll... yes

checking for X... no
checking for XShapeCombineMask in -lXext... no
checking for XpmCreatePixmapFromData in -lXpm... no
checking for glXCreateContext in -lGL... no
checking for glXCreateContext in -lMesaGL... no
checking for gluNewQuadric in -lGLU... no
checking for gluNewQuadric in -lMesaGLU... no
checking for /usr/local/include in g++ include path... no

configure: creating ./config.status
config.status: creating Makefile
config.status: creating config/Makefile
config.status: creating config/xc-config
config.status: creating include/Makefile
config.status: creating include/xclass/Makefile
config.status: creating include/xclass/version.h
config.status: creating icons/Makefile
config.status: creating doc/Makefile
config.status: creating lib/Makefile
config.status: creating lib/libxclass/Makefile
config.status: creating test/Makefile
config.status: creating example-app/Makefile
config.status: creating include/xclass/XCconfig.h
config.status: include/xclass/XCconfig.h is unchanged
config.status: executing default commands

WhenI make install, I get all kinds of errors (see attachment)
.
Can anyone help on this?
I have already posted a question on the sourceforge.net xclass forum, no reply and withthe author of RX320, no reply either.

Thanks in advance, dan

Seve
12th January 2007, 06:55 PM
Hello:
This is just a suggestion, as I have no idea about the program you are installing :)

yum groupinstall "X Software Development" "Legacy Software Development" "Development Tools"

Give it whirl again and see how you make out.

Seve

Dan Ziolkowski
12th January 2007, 09:01 PM
OK tried that. It does not appear to have worked...

[root@localhost ~]# yum groupinstall "X Software development" "Legacy software development" "Development tools"
Loading "installonlyn" plugin
Setting up Group Process
Setting up repositories
core [1/3]
core 100% |=========================| 1.1 kB 00:00
extras [2/3]
extras 100% |=========================| 1.1 kB 00:00
updates [3/3]
updates 100% |=========================| 951 B 00:00
comps.xml 100% |=========================| 55 kB 00:03
Setting up repositories
Reading repository metadata in from local files
primary.xml.gz 100% |=========================| 1.8 MB 02:53
extras : ################################################## 6093/6093
Added 17 new packages, deleted 0 old in 35.85 seconds
Warning: Group None does not exist.
Warning: Group None does not exist.
Warning: Group None does not exist.
No packages in any requested group available to install or update
[root@localhost ~]#

Thanks anyhoo!
Dan

Seve
12th January 2007, 09:13 PM
Hello:
Are you using FC6?
your yum command should have been

yum groupinstall "X Software Development" "Legacy Software Development" "Development Tools"

and not


yum groupinstall "X Software development" "Legacy software development" "Development tools"

everything is case sensitive

Seve

Dan Ziolkowski
12th January 2007, 11:38 PM
I am running core 5.
OK, yum worked now.

Now on ./configure Errors are reduced but not eliminated, here is whats left:

checking whether we are cross compiling... no
checking for AIX... no (isn't this an IBM version of UNIX?)
checking sys/systeminfo.h usability... no
checking sys/systeminfo.h presence... no
checking for sys/systeminfo.h... no
checking GL/glu.h usability... no
checking GL/glu.h presence... no
checking for GL/glu.h... no
checking for gluNewQuadric in -lGLU... no
checking for gluNewQuadric in -lMesaGLU... no
checking for /usr/local/include in g++ include path... no

When I run make, it looks error free
Make install looks error free also.
But when I run make rx320-0.6.1, stiil mostly errors.

Thanks Dan

Dan Ziolkowski
13th January 2007, 12:12 AM
just for kicks I ran make rx320 again and it worked, so case closed. Thanks Seve for your help.
Dan

markkuk
13th January 2007, 12:16 AM
checking whether we are cross compiling... no
checking for AIX... no (isn't this an IBM version of UNIX?)
Those aren't errors (or you are in the wrong forum) :)


checking sys/systeminfo.h usability... no
checking sys/systeminfo.h presence... no
checking for sys/systeminfo.h... no
checking GL/glu.h usability... no
checking GL/glu.h presence... no
checking for GL/glu.h... no
checking for gluNewQuadric in -lGLU... no
checking for gluNewQuadric in -lMesaGLU... no

Install the firefox-devel and mesa-libGLU-devel packages.

Dan Ziolkowski
13th January 2007, 12:47 AM
I am new at this, just learning, so I don't know an error from a bag of donuts. I assumed NO meant an error.
Thanks Dan