PDA

View Full Version : Ripping an Audio CD in FC6 under KDE



d347hm4n
11th January 2007, 05:22 PM
I ripped a cd using kaudiocreator, ripped it fine and then encoded it using lame, for some reason amarok refuse's to play the files, even dropped into windows, ripped it into mp3 then rebooted to check if it was working, is there something i haven't done?

Dies
11th January 2007, 06:58 PM
If Amarok won't play any mp3's, install this from Livna and try again:

amarok-extras-nonfree.i386

d347hm4n
11th January 2007, 08:23 PM
i can play mp3's with amarok just fine, but when i make my own mp3's using kaudiocreator and lame as the encoder, it's says some of the media couldn't be playable. Have I a setting wrong in Kaudiocreator,must be something, rips the cd fine, then encode's them, but when i open the mp3 forcibly with amarok it says media not playable. V. stange

Thx for the reply dies, your always a font of knowledge

Dies
11th January 2007, 08:57 PM
Gotcha.
Not sure, I haven't ripped a CD in forever, lol.
This might be worth checking out:

http://arson.sourceforge.net/screenshot.php

Personally, this is one area where I prefer a nice gui, the command line tools can be a pain in the ...


By the way I got a good result when ripping to a .wav then encoding it with

lame -V2 input.wav output.mp3

Good quality and it plays fine in Amarok.

paul matthijsse
11th January 2007, 09:51 PM
If Amarok won't play any mp3's, install this from Livna and try again:
amarok-extras-nonfree.i386Thanks, my laptop Amarok works again (it stopped doing that after some other sound related updates...).

Paul.