PDA

View Full Version : Can't Connect to the internet

skoalman88
10th January 2007, 07:14 PM
Before my question is posed, please be advised that I am a newbie and have no idea what I am doing.

I have a linksys wireless adapter and in order to connect to the router I use a WEP key. When I try to activate the network connection, I get a "check cable" message. My questions are how do I install the adapter and where do I type in the WEP key.

Thank you.

Shooter
10th January 2007, 09:00 PM
You didn't mention what linux you are using. Just guessing that it is a recient version of Fedora (say 5 or 6). If so, you can use the GUI tools to set the WEP key. From the Menu: "System"->"Administration"->"Network" will bring up the Network Configuration GUI. Select the network device from the list and press the "edit" button. If the system recognizes the device to be a wireless device, there will be a "Wireless Settings" tab. That tab has a place to enter your wep key.

skoalman88
10th January 2007, 10:17 PM
Sorry, I am using Fedora Core 6. I think the major problem is that I do not have the driver for the linksys device. I tried the program that allows you to use the windows driver, but I am not able to install it (again, I am a Newbie)

Thanks in advance.

Brian1
10th January 2007, 11:38 PM
First thing to eleminate is turn off wep, wpa, mac or ip filtering. Make it as simply as can be. Then try to connect to the router. If not then one can start at the basics. Once that connection is made one can then start applying encrpytion and so on.

Brian

skoalman88
11th January 2007, 01:25 AM
Unfortunately, I can only connect to the router that requires a WEP key. I do not have access to any others and won't in the near future. Again, I think the major issue is that Linksys does not provide a linux driver for their products. Also, I have no idea what I am doing and that appears to be the biggest obstacle.

Iron_Mike
11th January 2007, 02:52 AM