PDA

View Full Version : Switching from Gnome to KDE?



mrbones
29th December 2006, 04:05 AM
Is switching from Gnome Desktop to KDE possible? I was searching but didnt see anythign supporting or denying it. would it just be as simple as loading a few key parts from the Add/Remove software wizard and restarting?

rappermas
29th December 2006, 04:13 AM
It would be as simple as installing KDE and logging in with it. Everything still works, as long as you don't uninstall anything in the process.

To use KDE apps in Gnome, you have to have the KDE stuff (like Qt) to have them run. And vice versa.

So if you decide that KDE is the salvation of mankind, don't uninstall Gnome completely.

mrbones
29th December 2006, 04:23 AM
Hmm ok thanks.