PDA

View Full Version : When using ./configure on Kaffeine, Xine-lib is not detected.

Cookies
28th December 2006, 02:47 AM
Hello there Fedora Forum, as you can see I am new, I have been using Fedora for about 2 years, I believe, but I have only recently figured out source code.

So, my question to you is this: I do not have Root permissions (and won't have theme, most likely) so I need to install all programs to my Home folder, so far it's worked well, and I got Xine to install there, but when I went to install Kaffeine, the KDE Media Player, it cannot find Xine-lib and configure has this error:

checking for xine-lib... no

-----------------------------------------
ERROR: Could not find xine-lib >= 1.0.2.
-----------------------------------------

configure: error: could not find xine-lib

And, when I run the command given by the Xine website to tell frontends, like Kaffeine, that Xine-lib exists, which is:

./configure --prefix=$HOME/xine --with-xine-prefix=$HOME/xine

And I run it, and it tells me to do this:

xine-lib will be installed to /home/zak/xine--with-xine-prefix=/home/zak/xine/lib

This path is not mentioned among the linker search paths in your
/etc/ld.so.conf. This means it is possible that xine-lib will
not be found when you try to compile or run a program using it.
If this happens, you should add /home/zak/xine--with-xine-prefix=/home/zak/xine/lib to
the environment variable LD_LIBRARY_PATH like that:

export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/home/zak/xine--with-xine-prefix=/home/zak/xine/lib:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH

Alternatively you can add a line "/home/zak/xine--with-xine-prefix=/home/zak/xine/lib"
to your /etc/ld.so.conf.

So my question is, where DO I put that? And, is there anything else I must do?

Specifics for computer:

Fedora Core 6
Intel Pentium 4
Kernel 2.6.18
KDE 3.5.4

~Thanks in advance.

u-noneinc-s
28th December 2006, 03:32 AM